Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Go ... must connect USB 'after' controller and aircraft

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Flyer91, Dec 8, 2015.

  1. Flyer91

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    In the Sierras, 17 miles outside Yosemite N. P.
    I've noticed that with the latest updates to the controller, the Phantom P3P, and running the latest DJI Go, I need to connect my USB cable last, or I always get the "Disconnected" message.

    If I connect the USB cable 'after' starting up the controller and P3P and the app, or unplug the USB cable and reconnect it after it's all started, everything works fine.

    But if I start it all with the USB connected to my droid tablet, it's a "no go" and it always says Disconnected until I simply unplug, and then plug the USB cable back in.

    Is this normal?
     
    tcope likes this.
  2. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Yes, yes and yes. For me, I started doing this months ago. I've found that it's the only way to connect correctly 99% of the time. So... turn controller on without USB plugged in, turn P3 on and then plug in the USB. For me, I then select the app I want to use from the pop up choices and select Just Once.

    As mentioned, I've had issues with the connection sequence for awhile now, certainly before this last update. I now just do it this way every time and see almost no issues.

    Thanks for mentioning this, I've been meaning to bring it up.
     
    Flyer91 likes this.
  3. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yup...same here and I'm still on the older Rd and p3p fw. But the way I'm using android. I'm curious does this behaviour occur on iOS also?
     
    Flyer91 likes this.
  4. Chevytwonova

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    7
    Not that i know of i plug in cable start controller then run the app lastly i turn on aircraft. Use my iphone 6s plus
     
    Flyer91 likes this.
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Same as I do and also how it shows in the "How to Connect" in the app.
     
    Flyer91 likes this.
  6. Flyer91

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    In the Sierras, 17 miles outside Yosemite N. P.
    Thanks for the replies guys!

    Looks like it's a Droid thing then.
    It was causing me some serious undue worryation ... ;)
     
  7. MoOriginal

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    23
    I do it in any combination and on ios and never have a problem - only need to close the app and restart it to get connection again if it had been sitting in background
     
  8. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    Yes, initially that strict android start up sequence was an annoyance, but now it's just part of my start up routine. Muscle memory!