Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Go App work with iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by echomedia, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. echomedia

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    The specs for the Phantom 3 Standard say that the DJI Go App requires iOS and then it lists compatibility with a bunch of iPhone and iPad devices. Does anyone know if the DJI Go app works on an iPod Touch (version 8.4.1)?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    You need an Apple device that has at least an A7 processor. iPod Touches use a different type of processor. So, no, it will not meet the requirements for the DJI GO app.
     
  3. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    The new iPod Touch has an A8 processor...
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    In that case, the new one might work then...
     
  5. echomedia

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the info, guys. I'm trying to avoid having to buy a new device if I buy a new quadcopter. **** expensive hobby, especially when your Phantom RsTH and flies into a tree!
     
  6. phartwig

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get a tablet whenever possible. I was using my 6plus and I just got the iPad mini 2 and there is more data. Like my phone I only got the mini map. Tablet I get mini map and the sonar arrow. As well as more screen space. Wish I had done it earlier.
     
  7. Ayrtonginster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    48
    iPod touch will not let you download the go app and says it's not compatible
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,528
    Location:
    US
    Ayrtonginster, which iPod Touch did you try?
     
  9. Ayrtonginster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    48
    The latest model, 16gb MGG82BT/a
     
  10. Ayrtonginster

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    48
    Take it back! Just tried it again and since new update I guess it works, just very very slow
     
  11. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,363
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Why would you have your RTH set at a height below near collision obstacles? When return to home is activated, it climbs to a safe 'preset' (by you) elevation, then fly's to the recent recorded home point and lands, if you don't take back control. Or have changed the home point, to your present transmitter location. Options with these brilliant things are incredibly useful.

    Does an iPod have GPS or even a compass, perhaps apps?

    I look forward to see what new developments or features are included in next generations of Phantoms and Apple products as well. ;-)
    I'd like an iPad Air 3, please.

    RedHotPoker
     
  12. echomedia

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I can't tell just by looking at a tree how high it is. I don't have laser rangefinders built into my eyeballs.
     
  13. barefootbeachcombing

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    US
    Yeah, but if you are near those type of obstacles, then you would naturally set the RTH to be WELL above the height that those trees might be. Right? Doesn't that make sense.

    Unless they are Sequoias, they likely are not above 100 feet tall. So if you set it to a comfortable level above that, you would be safer, no? Even without "laser rangerfinders built into your eyeballs".

    Just common sense is needed.