Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

dji go app telemetry distance vs distance to aircraft

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by jtm, Nov 28, 2015.

  1. jtm

    jtm

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys anyone know the difference between the "Distance" and the "Distance to Aircraft" telemetry data on the dji go app? How is "Distance to Aircraft" (icon of a man with a arrow) measured..

    On my Samsung S6 (cellular) the figure reported by "Distance to Aircraft" seems accurate.

    On my Samung S2 (non-cellular), the figured reported by "Distance to Aircraft" is all over the place.

    Both S6 and S2 report "Distance" accurately.

    temp.gif
     
  2. Jamesak51

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    jtm, that icon is the vision positioning status, I'm not sure how that is calculated. I only fly outdoors so I have that turned off.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Nothing to do with VPS. One is distance from home and one is distance from controller (if it has GPS)
    These screen shots should make it clear ...
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Jamesak51

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Sorry for the false info, the app tutorial also says vision positioning status for that icon.
     
  5. rebal1oo

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've noticed that the VPS information will show there but only until you get about 10' high. After the VPS height is exceeded the distance shows up.