Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Go app battery gobbler??

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Neil Shearer, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. Neil Shearer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi

    Is there anyone else having problems with the Dji Go app using up battery power rapidly on their IPhone 6s?? I've just got my p3s 3 days ago and getting used to it but it goes through a whole charge in 20 minutes while flying!!
    Is this normal??
     
  2. PhantomPlanet

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    41
    it does eat battery. but you're in luck since you're flying a standard or 4K. you can at least plug you're phone into an inexpensive USB battery pack while flying.
     
    dirtybum likes this.
  3. Neil Shearer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Perfect thanks for the tip!
     
  4. PhantomPlanet

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    41
  5. CRF319

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    58
    Disable video cache in general settings.
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1459121396.064850.jpg
     
  6. smp

    smp

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Bedford, NH
    I definitely agree. I first tried to use my iPhone 5 with the DJI GO app, and it ate up my battery from about 85% down to shutting off with reserve power save in about 15 minutes. The iPhone is old and I know the battery is not the best, but that was a surprise to me.

    I've been using my iPad Air, and that works much better for me. The app is still a battery eater, but it only uses about 20% battery during a full battery flight.

    smp
     
  7. bebeloneovvl

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    17
    And at least on Android, I have to go in on application manager and force close it there. If not, the app causes a great standby battery drainage.
     
  8. losman26

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    84
    It doesn't matter if you force close it, the app will continue to open up all the time in the background. Probably lose 5 hrs battery time in a day because of this app.
     
  9. azpilot61

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Arizona
    Really? I force close mine all the time when done flying and it never opens back up. No battery loss at all once its closed.
     
  10. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,122
    Likes Received:
    316
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    The screen brightness can be one of the biggest battery draws. I know some of the phones/tablets are hard to see outdoors, so folks crank up the brightness level.
     
  11. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    1,793
    Are you flying when it's cold iPhone batteries deplete fast when it's cold and flying. I find flying the PIII standard or the P2 vision plus with Wi-Fi the iPhone works better than android phones. Unfortunately when it's cold out I have to choose the android, I-phone will shut off after 15 minutes and usually midflight
     
  12. bebeloneovvl

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    17
    Me too. It doesn't open again at all.
     
  13. zryall3

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    How can you plug your phone into an external battery if the one lightning port is already being used by the controller?
     
  14. PhantomPlanet

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    41
    unlike the models with light bridge, you do not plug in your mobile device into the remotes of the standard and 4K models.
     
  15. zryall3

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks much, but I must be missing something. Iphone6 has to connect to the Phantom3 Pro controller through a lightning to USB connector in order for the app to work. That takes up the one data/charge port available on the phone. I just bought an Apple extra battery pack cover/case to try and solve for the problem.
     
  16. CardiacKid

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I honestly haven't noticed it. I noticed the phone gets hot but that's from the sun


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. PhantomPlanet

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    41
    the only thing you're missing is that this topic is in the standard/4k section, not the adv/pro section. :)
     
    EddieM and stavrossid like this.
  18. CardiacKid

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Phoenix
    We don't have to plug in the controller with the standard right? Lol


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. EddieM

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Sanford, FL
    Correct! Only the Advanced/Pro require the mobile device to plug into the RC. The latest Go app update mentions power consumption so maybe they've done something to reduce battery drain!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app