Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Go 2.8.6 iOS version is out today

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alokbhargava, Aug 4, 2016.

  1. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    DJI Go 2.8.6 iOS version is out today. It's expected to fix GPS error issue.

    More details when I test it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. Digdat0

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2016
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    393
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Also enables rtmp steaming ... I wish they would also list bug fixes in better detail. Like, the flight records sync issue, is it fixed? 2.8.5 update said it would be fixed. But this release says nothing.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rpratali

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, OH
    What is rtmp streaming?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Real Time Messaging Protocol. Fancy for 'live streaming video' .


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  5. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    Awesome - how do we use this streaming?
     
  6. DroneTone

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Alokbhargava, just curious-
    I have a stock P3P (W323B), currently using firmware v1.8.8, RC (GL300C) v1.6.0 and GO app v2.8.1.
    Seems to work pretty well with my iPad and Headplay with a reliable range of 1-2 miles using windsurfers.

    However, I'm thinking of moving up to a later or current version of the GO app such as v2.8.4 or v2.8.6 to use some of the new features.

    Do you or does anyone know if any issues or limitations are introduced by using these later versions of GO apps?
    Or do different versions of the GO app have no affect on range and general flight performance?

    Thanks
     
  7. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    The past couple of revs past 1.6 have not engendered the sturm und drang of a number of previous ones. The GEO system roll out has actually been remarkably quiet compared to the beta. There are lot of people who don't like the concept of it, but implementation seems OK.

    The only thing that I've seen mentioned recently is an increased propensity for the GPS system to freak out and unlock. This appears intermittent but fairly wide spread. I've had it a couple of times on 1.6 on two P3s. In both cases I just flew in ATTI mode for a few minutes and the lock came back. It think DJI tweaked the GPS system to be more sensitive to interruption for whatever reason. I have noted that putting my hand over the GPS module gets both Phantoms to immediately proclaim ATTI mode until the hand moves. That's a bit weird since I can sit on my Bad Elf GPS and have it happily figure out where my backside is.

    The past couple of revs have also not yielded much in terms of improvements, so I'm planning on staying at 1.6 for the moment. Had to upgrade my newest bird to 1.6 because the 1.4 firmware would not work with my other RCs.
     
  8. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If all is working well, no need to upgrade. Enjoy flying.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Martin Smith and Digdat0 like this.
  9. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    What's the gps error? I've lost touch with that one. Been flying very stable so I haven't had the need to upgrade for a while. I'm not that far behind though. Couple revs pre geo I think.
     
    Peter Merling likes this.
  10. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    He may be talking about what I had mentioned above. That would be interesting if true. It sure would be nice, DJI, if you bothered to tell us just what you 'fixed'.
     
    Digdat0 likes this.
  11. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    Maybe but you're referencing old firmware. I don't really take current fixes to reference firmware that far back but I do agree that they should be more specific even when they're trying to be.
     
  12. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    I tried testing it today in an open field for 15 minutes. All seems to be ok. I noticed GPS lock at less number of satellites say 6-7 and got locked quickly and appeared to be stable. These are first impressions. I used the following combos on my system with iPad :

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  13. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    We used to get GPS lost messages in flight logs even though GPS was locked.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Digdat0 likes this.
  14. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun

    Is that 6 or 7 satellites less, or only 6 or 7 satellites ?

    I normally have 18-20
     
  15. rpratali

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Reynoldsburg, OH
    Made three flights today with no problems.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. Colorado68

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Golden, CO
    Im still running Pilot app, yes pilot app, not go. 1.2.6 and its worked flawsly for over a year. Very stable and have not had issues. I fly at least once a week for over a year.
    just make sure you have a dedicated tablet and run in airplane mode. Once the tab connects to a wifi, you, ll be forced to upgrade. Ive been very particular about not upgrading.
    craft flies as well as day one.
     
  17. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,145
    Likes Received:
    1,664
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Got locked on 6-7 satellites only.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  18. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,674
    Likes Received:
    5,712
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I used my standard today for 2 long runs and locked on 12 both trips . I see
    no changes in the update . I went out this evening and didn't get but 9 but that's about normal here at my house .
     
  19. Drestin Black

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    279
    Location:
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Been using it since it came out and have no negatives to report,
    I will say that the FB live streaming is very much improved.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots