Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI FPV HUB AVL58 iOSD INSTALL PICTURES

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by rmklaw, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    I installed the gimbal with the AVL58, iOSD Mini, using the new FPV Hub. here are the pictures. I followed DJI's advice to place the AVL as far from the compass as possible. The Hub makes it possible to keep things neat and no soldering.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    More pictures
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Danno

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the hub on order. I'll be using it with the Immersn transmitter.

    What is the power source for the hub. The only cable that looks like it goes back to the ship is through the Zenmuse. Is that where the hub is getting its power?
     
  4. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually, Guess what???? After going through all the trouble of installing the FPV using the DJI Hub, yesterday I took it all apart and installed everything inside (except the AVL58) without using the Hub. The installation is so much cleaner with no wires or other hardware outside (except the AVL58). Only two wires outside. The black wire to the AVL58 and the flat ribbon to the gimbal. It looks so much cleaner and there was plenty of room for everything inside.

    Now I am happy.
     
  6. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Behind the ribbon cable for the gimbal, there is a four-wire cable coming from inside the Phantom 2. If you don't use the Hub, this is the cable that you use to take power, and also to connect to Vtx. See my other post. decided to remove the Hub and installed everything inside except the Vtx. Looks much cleaner without all the interconnecting cables from the Hub.
     
  7. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    What did you use to attach the components? Velcro?
     
  8. Danno

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I originally did the install without the hub, but one of the FPV resistors blew (sparks and all) the first time I applied power. This is a problem DJI acknowledges and from what I've read, might be the reason they came out with the hub. I'm hoping the hub will alleviate the need for that resistor because I have no FPV capability with it blown. Still flies fine though.
     
  9. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    I used 3M double-sided tape. The iOsd Mini is installed right next to the FC, and the can bus is in empty space on the inside.
     
  10. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    From what I read, some people had problems with damaging the FPV by reversing the wires. Where did you see an acknowledgement from DJI that they had a problem? The Hub is a great concept, if they would have made the ribbon cables longer to be able to put the Hub inside (there is plenty of room). When I redid mine removing the Hub, it was a fast and easy process, soldering the six wires with room to spare inside.
     
  11. Medicmaniac193

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought you said you didn't use the hub for install on the inside?

    I really want to use the hub, but i don't want it on the outside. ...
     
  12. nikolai.raeder

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. CraigInDallas

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys I did this mod over the weekend on a Phantom 2 Vision. No iosd yet. So zenmuse gimbal to gopro 3+ black? FPV Hub on the bottom connecting the AVL58. I have the everything on the bottom with double sided tape. I have the AVL58 pointed with the antenna out the back so it is pointed down under the battery.

    So....... Everything works perfect until I fly. When I am at approx 50ft up or away in any direction. I seem to lose contact with the flight transmitter, so light go yellow and fail safe initiated.

    I can repeat this perfectly every time. If I simply unplug the AVL58 from the hub, I resolve the issue.

    So my thought is that I am interfering with the receiver or maybe draining power from the receiver somehow.

    I would really appreciate any thoughts.

    Craig
     
  14. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You put the AVL58 on a Phantom 2 Vision? If so then the issue is that your FPV signal is obliterating the 5.8GHz control signal from the ground, once you get that far away.

    The P2V uses 5.8GHz for the control signal just like the AVL58 and other common FPV transmitters use for the video signal, unlike the P1 and non-vision P2 which use 2.4GHz.

    If you're going to keep the P2V, then you'll need to use a 2.4GHz or 1.2GHz FPV Tx/Rx setup (or any of the other non-5.8GHz bands)
     
  15. CraigInDallas

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the pv2 and as awesome as it is, the unstable footage just take too much time to stabilize. Trying to minimize cost, and much of a loss on the PV2, I started hacking it together. Obviously having no idea that the primary radio was on the same freq.

    So now I after your insight, I am back to a decision to put it back to a stock p2v and put it on Craigslist and get the P2, or maybe installing a spectrum tx/rx (I have one from a sail plane I'm not flying) I want to keep the fpv on 5.8 because I have my fpv gear (goggles etc) on 5.8.

    I am leaning towards the getting a P2, so I don't have to hack a cambus port for the iOSD.

    More thoughts?
     
  16. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    In your position I'd go ahead and move to the non-vision P2, the P2V seems to just be too unfriendly to those who want to upgrade (as you've already run in to).
     
  17. CraigInDallas

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ~ sigh

    What a learning journey huh? Lol

    Thank you for you quick reply...

    Craig
     
  18. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Always glad to help!

    Remember, if all this wasn't a learning experience, it would get real boring real fast ;)
     
  19. pgesler

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to use this Hub with the DJI F450 or F550?
     
  20. CraigInDallas

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you actually can.