Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DJI Driver Installer

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Jim Talbot, Apr 7, 2015.

  1. Jim Talbot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a MacPro Quad Core but I can only find windows software on the dji site. Millions of us have Macs - what do they do. I have a new Phantom1 with 2200mAh battery {which I assume will only run for about 10-12 mins?} Should I buy another one if I want to play for more time?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,043
    Likes Received:
    5,608
    Location:
    US
    There is no DJI driver for Macs. It's not needed.
     
  3. Jim Talbot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thnx so much for the fast reply!!!!
     
  4. Jim Talbot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the Phantom Advanced Manual as a guide, but the USB cable that came with the unit only has a plug that is small, thin and tapered at one side. Nothing else that came with the unit, on or off the craft will plug into it.
     
  5. landmannnn

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Coventry and Limoges
    There's a micro USB port hidden behind a white rubber plug on the phantom
     
  6. Woody

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    31
    The cable that came with mine has a gray adapter with a mini USB on one end, but the black cable with USB on both ends is all you need for connecting to the Phantom. The USB on the Phantom is tucked away in the left side of the battery compartment.
     
  7. Jim Talbot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    On my Phantom1, I actually found a normal size USB connector inside the battery compartment and I went back to the directions in the manual. It told me to turn on the controller, which I did, connect the USB then power on the Phantom system. Nothing about connecting the battery. What do they mean by system. There is no power switch on the craft that I could find.
     
  8. Woody

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    31
    Power the Phantom by plugging in the battery. Take the props off first just in case you accidentally start the motors.
     
  9. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    For the P1, you should have what looks like a USB extension cable.

    It is possible to also use a cable with a micro-USB plug, but you need to remove the lid of the Phantom to do this.
     
  10. Jim Talbot

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I finally got all the software/firmware up to date but am afraid to go out on my own to try my Phantom1 for the first time. Is there someone out there who lives in the WeHo/BevHills area who could help me get it up and running?