Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

DJI Care or not

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ElGuapo, Jul 19, 2016.

1. ElGuapo

Newbie here waiting for FedEx to deliver my P3A on Wednesday. Along with the bird I purchased DJI care, but after reading the terms and conditions of the coverage I am not sure it was a good move to purchase the coverage.

One of the items not covered are the propellers. Basically I bought coverage for the camera / gimbal.

2. msinger

Approved Vendor

Propellers are super cheap. You will not need to replace them often if you do not crash and you store them safely.

3. ElGuapo

If I crash hard and cause damage to the body of the bird it is not considered a covered item (cosmetic damage). Items that do not prevent the safely flying and handling of the bird are not covered. Motors are covered, not sure how much they are...

4. msinger

Approved Vendor

You can find a list of P3A replacement parts here.

DCDrone likes this.
  5. tcope

If you need the service, props are not a worry. The Phantom comes with an entire extra set anyway. I think 2 props run about $8.00 or so. A camera and gimbal might run $600.

6. msinger

Approved Vendor

You could nearly buy two for $600 :)

7. tcope

$430 plus $100 (?) labor? $530

upload_2016-7-19_9-33-10.png

8. ElGuapo

That is what I am saying guys, the more I look into this the more I think that I bought something that I am not going to get my money's worth. I can still contact DJI and have them remove it and get a refund. For the P3A the cost is $199, for the P3P the cost is $279.
    Not to mention they do not cover if I cause a complete damage to the bird.

9. msinger

Approved Vendor

The OP has a P3A. Why pay for labor? The entire unit can be easily swapped out.

10. RDZDroneFlier