DJI App - Map Questions

Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to the DJI Phantom 3 Professional. When I turn on the quad copter, remote control and app, I always calibrate the compass by turning in a 360 degree circle, then nose down, do it again. However, the app on my phone doesn't show the pointer in the direction that my copter is actually facing. Am I doing something wrong.

What's the easiest way by looking at the app to make sure I can get my drone back if I fly out of distance. Do I simply point the arrow in the opposite direction? Or is there a way I can see the track of my flight an simply follow it back?

I apologize if these are simple questions, but just trying to learn and fly the best and safest.

Regards;

I always calibrate the compass by turning in a 360 degree circle, then nose down, do it again. However, the app on my phone doesn't show the pointer in the direction that my copter is actually facing. Am I doing something wrong.
Most people do the second turn with the nose down, but it's okay to do it with the nose to the side as shown in the app.

FYI, you don't need to calibrate the compass before each flight. Check out the Compass Calibration Guide for more details on the best practices.

What's the easiest way by looking at the app to make sure I can get my drone back if I fly out of distance. Do I simply point the arrow in the opposite direction?
If you're viewing the map in DJI GO, you can enable the "Show Flight Route" path to show your flight route on the map. Then, just follow the same route back to the home point.

DJI-GO-Show-Flight-Route.jpg

If I ever lose sight of my Phantom, I use the radar at the bottom corner of the DJI GO app to steer my Phantom toward the home point.