Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Distance questions about P3

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by thomaslaken, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. thomaslaken

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    I was wondering if anybody has ever tested the actual limits of a stock P3 as in how far it can go without losing signal, and/or if it can go above 500m. I'm curious to hear if anybody has tested this.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Lots have tested.
    In a good interference free environment, the P3 Advanced and Pro can fly further than the battery is able to bring them back.
    The 500 m altitude limit is hard-wired and can't be bypassed.
     
  3. thomaslaken

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    Thanks for that! Do you know how far away it can fly and come back in ft/m by chance?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  4. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    Plenty of distance threads here. As stated a basic P3A/P3P can go pretty far. I've gone just past 3 miles before chickening out. Im sure you can go far on your own in ideal locations. Good luck.
     
  5. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    272
    There are four P3s: P3S, P3 4K, P3A, and the P3P. Which P3 are you asking about?
     
  6. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    80
    I can only set the GO app max height to 120m, not 500m.
     
  7. Lifted Chevy

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I got 7,000 feet on my p3p today but couldn't maintain visual so I bought it back.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. sacooke

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Kingston, Jamaica
    With a dbsmod antenna I pushed as far out as 20,000 feet on a stock battery and came home on the wings of angels. IMHO you're good for 15k without upper level winds against you.

    Sent from my A0001 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    You can set the Max Height up to 500 metres but you have to have the Phantom connected for it to work because the setting is stored in the Phantom, not the app.
     
    Numone and ROD PAINTER like this.
  10. HWCM

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    138
    I flew off the side of a mountain at 2400 ft and went out 17,000 feet. The altimiter on the Go app said I was at 45 ft. I could have flown up another 1600 ft. I git back with 30% battery.
     
  11. thomaslaken

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Kenosha, WI
    P3P


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    20,000 ft. P3P. All parts stock. No external add on.
     
  13. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1,177
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
  14. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    80
    I was connected to the Phantom but it would not accept higher than 120m.
     
  15. Tenly

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    218
    P3A completely stock - flew 5.7km / 3.5 miles away - and made it back with 17% battery left.

    But in another location, the same unit could only go 1km before signal loss.
     
  16. Alan Russel

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    3.8 miles or just over 20,000ft P3P stock...
     
  17. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    I'm not sure what you are doing but it's not right.
    All P3s & P4s can go to 500 m altitude.
     
    Pharm likes this.
  18. exit 4

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey
    You sure? Could it be something in the latest firmware? I was able to make it higher on my last P3A but my new one will not go further.
     
  19. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Every P3 & P4 can be set to go as high as 500 metres.
    Firmware updates reset settings to default values but you can change them back again to whatever your choice is.
     
  20. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    272
    It won't go further or it won't go higher?