Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Distance before drone disconnects

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by force recon, Apr 13, 2016.

  1. force recon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Simple question .....is 500 metres about the distance when my/your phantom start too lose signal and return to home kicks in....
    I've got the Advanced so should be going mile before it starts too struggle but mine seems too struggle after 500 too 550 metres..
    I'm out in the open, clear day nothing in my way so what's going on??
     
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    is there a lot of trees
     
  3. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Make certain the antennas are correctly oriented.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Are you in the US or somewhere with CE regs?
     
  5. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    What does this have to do with losing signal? Does the Phantom land according to regs? I'm confused.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. MedinaTaylor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    115
    In the US the FCC allows the higher-powered radio transmission than in other parts of the world.
     
    Tony Cowan likes this.
  7. NRJ

    NRJ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    139
    Allows it how? I'm not sure about what you are saying, Can you explain further?
     
  8. MedinaTaylor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    115
  9. NRJ

    NRJ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    139
    I did not know that. I am once again a man who has learned today. Thanks.
     
  10. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    you cant change from ce to fcc
     
  11. BDinLV

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southern Nevada
    Getting back to the OP's question, if he indeed has a clear line of sight and he has his antennas properly pointed in the direction of the quad, then starting to lose signal at less than 2000 feet is pretty anemic. Question is, what is making it happen?
     
  12. NRJ

    NRJ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    139
    Good question. I live in a metropolis and it has microwave antenna tree's all over the place, everybody has wifi, airports, heliports, police, etc., etc., etc. I was unable to fly past 1500 ft prox. Very disappointing. I bought a fpvlr antenna system with boosters and now have a much better range. I haven't tested it too far yet as I just got it up and running. The massive signal populous and the surrounding cities, airports etc. is what I attributed to my lack of distance. How does one go about determining the reason for poor distance?
     
  13. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Ok.. I will play.

    So do they make different versions of the Phantom that is only sold in the US. I really don't think they do but I'm open to hearing what difference the regs and location have on the capability of our Phantom 3's. I think there is no difference.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    There is no difference but the Phantom sets itself to FCC or CE mode based on the GPS location.
    But ... this makes only a small difference to the range and many European flyers manage respectable long range flights.

    Urban areas always have a lot of interference that eats your range.
    Go for a drive to the sea or a rural area and see how it goes there ... it could easily be 10 times more.
     
    liketogethigh likes this.
  15. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    If you are using a Pro or Advanced and have your antennas oriented correctly, you should get much greater range in a non-urban area.
     
  16. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,604
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    How high are you flying. Height become more important with distance to ensure a clear signal path. You don't need much in the way to cause issues. Also, the greater your altitude the less effect other RF source will have at the phantom end (better signal to noise ration with height).
     
  17. NRJ

    NRJ

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    139
    When flying distance, I usually fly between 200 - 250ft. But, this particular area still is laden with interference. That's why I got the fpvlr Antenna with boosters. I have gone to the beach (before my new antenna), and have traveled further, but not so much more that I was happy with it before losing signal. I will be testing my distance traveled and watching the distance meter more too. You're right, height is a better way of flying without interference.
     
  18. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    fly 400 feet you will get better range
     
  19. force recon

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    4
    Flying with plenty of hight nothing in the way trees etc etc ...out in the countryside on a hill still around 500 metres it starts too flicker ..what sort of metres everyone else getting be four this happens love too know .
     
  20. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I have done over 10,000 feet or about 1.86 miles distance with a CE approved set. P3 Pro totally standard.
    Even in a built up area with loads of wifi I have reached 1.66 miles. Maybe it helps but I am still on 1.19 firmware.