Dissertation HELP!

Reaction score
Evening all,

I'm not entirely sure this is the correct place to seek help but i'm going to give it a go..!

I am a 4th year engineering student and i am investigating drone ingestion testing on jet engines.

I don't physically own a DJI Phantom 4 Pro, but i need some dimensions if anyone would be so kind to help or advise!

Basically, i need the dimensions of the main body, width, length and height (not including legs), as highlighted in red below. My idea is to cut off the arms to make it a more compact projectile and therefore easier to launch, my only problem is i cant take those dimensions as i do not have access to a drone.

upload_2017-3-24_18-21-30.png

Also, if anyone would be able to post a photo of a 'birds-eye' view of the drone that would be great, obviously i will reference any photos or information provided.

Thanks in advance.

Ryan.

I am really surprised that you are doing a project without even seeing a P4P. Do these projects really make any sense or are just for publishing "some" theoretical findings on paper?

To answer your question, both.

I am a part-time student and I work for a large Turbo Fan Engine manufacturer here in the UK so it is a subject and a test that will be coming towards us very soon i believe, hence why i have chosen this as a topic i thought would be both of interest to me and to the company. It's something i am really interested in, and something that we will be doing in 1-2 years time so why not investigate it now as a project for my Final Year Project.

Got your point.

Basically, i need the dimensions of the main body, width, length and height (not including legs), as highlighted in red below.
125 x 100 x 80 mm (not counting the camera/gimbal)

I'd ask about removing the arms as that also removes the motors which would account for the most steel in the Phantom.
Here's a quick photo of the topside: Phantom 4 pro - Above & Beyond Photography