Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Discuss other Airframes and Controllers...

Discussion in 'Other DJI Multi-Rotors' started by Adam, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. Adam

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2012
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    18
    Several members requested this category.
     
  2. rmklaw

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Adam. We are now using it.
     
  3. rustyarrow

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norfolk UK
  4. ElationArt

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are there any DJI frames that are setup to carry a DSLR?
    I recently purchased a Phantom v1 and have been enjoying and getting comfortable with the quadcopter platform,
    my next step will be in doing my own scratch build for a Canon Mark II/Mark III setup, gimbal and all...

    have been getting a little overwhelmed while doing research online,
    4 blades, 6 blades, 8 blades,
    so many motor options, so many different frames and setups

    I have several Co2 Laser cutters at the home shop and will be playing around with cutting some frames out of MDF and acrylics,
    (not for a DSLR fram but just for fun)

    but if someone could link me to some scratch builds that support DSLRs It would be much appreciated =)
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
  6. markminer

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm currently building an F550 frame with a pixhawk autopilot. I will report back after I have flown it the first time. Probably this weekend!

    Mark Miner
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Awesome!! I've been anixous to hear some feedback on the pixhawk, esp on a 550 :)
     
  8. Funnone

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo,Oho
    i just ordered DJI f550 combo kit for 799.00,Futaba 8FG Super 2.4GHz 14-Channel Radio,and a PULSE 4S 6600 Battery from aerial media pros. Can't wait to get busy on the Assembly
     
  9. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    Congrats on your purchase. Check out YouTube, there are plenty of videos on the assembly and what's the best practices to ensure a good build. Since you are going with a 4S for your power make sure you install a BEC for later on when you add FPV or LED lights since most that I've seen including what I have on mine are rated for 2S-3S.
     
  10. Funnone

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo,Oho
    Yes i will have to get a BEC, i do plan on getting a FPV
     
  11. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You won't need a BEC just to fly, only if you want to add certain aftermarket accessories (lights, etc) that require lower voltage. Not all will need that, but a few might, just be sure to check before buying goodies like that later.
     
  12. jamerd

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys
    Hope you with experience can help I have a few other quads that I have built using different controllers I want to install a naza controller in one of them I am looking at the lite version I have a Phantom FC40 and love it reason I am looking at the naza controller so question, is the lite a good way to go I am looking at ebay there are listings for combo deals but I don't know if this is everything I need to install the controller or if there is an additional item that is needed.

    Dennis
     
  13. ladykate

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Bellevue, NE
    As with all things, it depends. The Lite doesn't have a hookup for the OSD so you would not get on-screen data if you are doing FPV - at least not the way everyone else is getting it. The Lite isn't quite as stable as the V2 (according to the dealers). Otherwise, you should be good. The kits usually have everything - except maybe a rod to get the GPS module up and away from the airframe.