Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Disabling no fly zone feature?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Wolford, May 1, 2015.

  1. Wolford

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi All,

    I got my first phantom today (p2) today and was very excited to try it out...i did the compass calibration...which on the second axis didn't seem to work very well...but then I saw eventually 5 green lights which I believe meant I was good to go.

    I noticed there was a pattern of 5 green lights followed by 1 red...that got me really paranoid and with all the talks about fly ways got me weary to take off.. After some research I realized it was the flight restriction kicking in.

    Is there anyway of disabling this? I understand it's purpose, and I have no intention of flying past the restriction. I just really hate seeing a red light...it get me paranoid that a fly away can occur..

    Is it possible to downgrade the firmware?
     
  2. Marlin009

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    515
    Location:
    West Coast of Florida
    Flight restriction?
     
  3. Wolford

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Maybe I'm using the wrong terminology....I suppose I mean the no fly zone firmware update
     
  4. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I am confused, dont you mean you had <6 satellites locked ?
     
  5. Wolford

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yesterday was my first day flying my Phantom 2. Though I did see videos and instructions regarding the flight indicators, I never saw anything regarding the pattern I saw yesterday..which I believe was 5 green and 1 blinking red...I thought it was an issue with the Phantom or maybe I did something wrong during compass calibration.

    It turns out that it was because I am in a "restricted flight" area...

    Didn't make sense because I am 6 miles away from JFK airport and according to the maps DJI provides, I have to be within 5 miles. I guess its not a big deal...I was just curious if there was a way to downgrade the firmware so I didn't have to see that annoying red flash after the 5 green blinks.