Did UAV take down Blue Angel?

Reaction score
I admit it's complete conjecture, but you have a perfect scenario for a uav to take down a jet yesterday.

1. Everyone knew where the practice would be and could estimate the time of practice.
2. Smyrna is a very loosely controlled airport (I'm a pilot and have flown out of Smyrna). There are no scheduled flights out of Smyrna. Only charter, private, and a few military. Of course, it's not even necessary to be on airport property. There are residential neighborhoods in every direction.
3. It's easy to predict the active runway
4. The Blue Angels are probably the most photogenic squadron in the world
5. It takes one idiot with a $500 flying camera and no sense of others' well being to park it 200 feet in the air at the end of the runway.

I agree with all of those points. They had a show this past weekend on Long Island and my cousin's daughter (a local news reporter) got a ride in one. People line the fence at the end of the runway to experience the low-level fly-by. I live about about 3.5 miles from the airport but in the direct flight path to the airshow location and had loads of planes passing over my property all day -- including VERY low-flying support helicopters traveling back and forth. Absolutely no place for a drone to be in the air.

Airshows and low-level aerobatic formation flying are inherently dangerous as you can easily tell looking at a list of airshow crashes: List of air show accidents and incidents - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
The Blue Angels have suffered quite a lot of crashes in the past:
During its history, 27 Blue Angels pilots have been killed in air show or training accidents.[41] Through the 2006 season there have been 262 pilots in the squadron's history,[42] giving the job a 10% fatality rate.
  • 29 September 1946 – Lt. Ross "Robby" Robinson was killed during a performance when a wingtip broke off his Bearcat, sending him into an unrecoverable spin.