diagnosing flight problems

Reaction score
Hello, This is my first post. I have been flying the phantom for 6 months.

I have spent a fair bit of money to fix the flight problems I've been having recently but without success so far. I'm hoping you might have some sugesstions here.

I have mounted tiger motors on and carbon props and have had great flights until a crash which im still recovering from.

I replaced the props and shafts, and it flys well in all directions except trouble on ascent and descent which is very unstable. the phantom for a while has also had trouble staying stationary in GPS mode. I have calibrated the gps and updated the firmware.

Even though I replaced the shafts, some appear to have slight wobble when i observe them on the ground, and i wonder if this is the problem. are my motors now garbage from that accident? i would suspect that if i can observe wobble that I may not even be able to rebalance the motors if this is the result of a deformation in the motors themselves.

I also wonder if the compass could be broken, and have ordered a replacement of that too.

Thankyou for any sugestions, any help would be appreciated!

After the crash, many parts can go wrong but you can identify each by some simple test.

Too check if the motor shaft bend, turn one tip of the prop to position over the arm and note the gap or space between the blade tip and the top surface of the shell. Next turn the other tip around and see if the gap is of similar distance? If not, the either the shaft is bend or the hub hole is not true but most likely the shaft!
Or you can remove all the prop and in stall only the prop nut, then run the motor and see if the tip of the prop spin in place?

The carbon props prefer heavy load other wise you may get slight wobble in up/down flight.

GPS mode can only keep your Phantom within a few square yards NOT on a dime.(see Phantom spec for exact number).