Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Dead motor? Or just thinking about starting?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Jerry C, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. Jerry C

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    This afternoon, went flying with P3P. No issues, concerns or problems. When finished, packed back into case and headed home. Went back out for this evening and lo and behold one motor non-functioning. Only change that was made was the firmware update. Not thinking that would cause this issue. Any other ideas out there?
     
  2. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Did you do the IMU, gimbal, and RC calibrations after the upgrade?
     
    Jerry C likes this.
  3. Jerry C

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I hadn't..could I be that lucky and have it be that simple? Is it strange though that one motor wouldn't start? (Can you spot the newbie in this forum)?
     
  4. Jerry C

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    All calibrations run and completed. The one motor still not responding.
     
  5. brad2388

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thats no good!! But atleast it happened on the ground!
     
    Jerry C likes this.
  6. Jerry C

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is that.
    On the plus side, I rolled back to the previous opdate and all four are primed and running. I appreciate your assistance though. Thank You.
     
  7. brad2388

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    13
    Wow thats wierd.
     
  8. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    wow thats really weird that it was firmware related.
     
  9. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,239
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    There's can be no conclusion this was firmware induced without additional testing.

    Correlation is not causation.
     
    Jerry C and timmer like this.
  10. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    You're welcome.

    Maybe download it and try it again today when the server is less taxed? Maybe you had a corrupt file.
     
  11. Jerry C

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is that. However, I went back today to install 1.04 and you guesses it, only three motors powering up.
     
  12. Calross1

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am having the exact same problem. I will try and update firmware again.