Dbs or Fpvlr?

Reaction score
Hello all you long range experts I am looking into ordering a set up for better range and am trying to decide between Dbs or Fpvlr? I am thinking I am going to start without boosters. Can boosters be added later to either choice? Is either one better then the other for areas with lots of trees? I am new to phantoms but am already l pushing it to the upper limits of the stock p4 range and want to keep going. I am getting weak video warning around 6000ft out over water at elv 200ft in a area that should not have much interference that I am aware of. Thanks for any tips. I have heard this is a opinionated subject so let's hear some opinions.

I have the FPVLR v2 boosted kit and my personal distance record is 23,000 ft. but that is with a P3 Pro. I still had good FPV and control signal at that point but had to turn around since I was using a stock battery. Landed at 2% on the battery.

Sadly, I think even with a FPVLR booster kit you're only gonna get 12-15,000 ft. on the P4 :(

That's the best choice. Start with RC antenna mod only, see what you get, then add amps later if you desire more range. Once you add amps you have the amps, batteries, more cabling, weight, & complexity.

Both DBS & FVPLR offer great products & both seem to offer good performance. The itellite (DBS) antennas are a bit more durable & compact. FVPLR are a bit bulkier but offer that really cool "ray gun" appearance. You'll need to either install/remove them after each use, or get a custom case so you can store the RC with antenna attached. I'd probably go the latter route rather than constantly having to install. Also its not a bad idea to keep an eye out for a spare stock RC so you have one for everyday flying without all the extra hardware. Takes only a moment to bind.