Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DBS MODS ( THESE AMPS ??? )

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Lee P3A, May 11, 2016.

  1. Lee P3A

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Tommymonkey likes this.
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Those are not the typical amps that pilots buy. I'd be worried about the battery. Do you have a battery already? If so, how do you know its plug will be the right size for the jack in that amp?
     
  3. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    I wouldn't use those don't look right at all
     
  4. Lee P3A

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Right thanks for that guys what the worst that could happen?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Lee P3A

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Also is there an alternative to sunhans?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    try them if they don't work just send them back I would go with sunhans myself
     
  7. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I've seen those amps somewhere before - I recognize the logo. Since you've got them coming, why don't you try to make them work and maybe you can break new ground, who knows? Your first challenge will be to power them. And btw, if you can't get them to work for your Phantom, you can use them for your router. You're in the UK right?
     
  8. Lee P3A

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yea dude UK. :) and yer I'll find a way to power them. And I'll gonna go get some serious mileage haha


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Ken Hanks

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    34
    Warning to those whom purchased amps for their drones. FCC Tiltle 47 Part 15 limits the power to 1 watt! Your antenna may not exceed 6db gain. Here is what the FCC states for violations:

    The act of selling or leasing, offering to sell or lease, or importing a low-power transmitter that has not gone through the appropriate FCC equipment authorization procedure is a violation of the Commission's rules and federal law. Violators may be subject to an enforcement action by the
    Commission's Field Operations Bureau that could result in:

    o forfeiture of all non-compliant equipment
    o $100,000/$200,000 criminal penalty for an individual/organization
    o a criminal fine totalling twice the gross gain obtained from sales of the non-compliant equipment
    o an administrative fine totalling $10,000/day per violation, up to a maximum of $75,000
     
  10. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    The people with the means and the smarts to implement amps are generally smart enough to not cause any problems that would bring negative attention to themselves or the hobby, at least from what I have seen so far.
     
  11. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    So the most it would cost me is $175,000? Not bad. Totally worth it.
     
  12. Tommymonkey

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    37
    Not to be funny UK Law only allows 1 watt amps too but I just imported a couple of 3 watts sunhans customs had no problems with it.
     
  13. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Then how come your controllers are limited to 25 mw?
     
  14. Lee P3A

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    so pretty much are these AMPS I've posted going to work ??
     
  15. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    1,167
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    We'll know they work when you write a post and tell us they work.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  16. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Yeah I got a couple of those Lee they work just fine. They are heavier, the parts are cheaper made. But they work just as well and use the same booster batteries. In fact Tony from FPVLR
    Is now selling those on his site instead of Sunhans brand (probably because he can buy them cheaper)
    Don't expect any more out of the 5 W than you would get out of a 2.5 to 3 W of any other brand though
     
  17. Ken Hanks

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    34
    The biggest issue is most of the amps are not FCC certified or licensed. Technically, most of them are not legal for sales in the US. They can easily cause interference with many devices to include "amateur radio". If you have an Amateur radio license, they can use more than 1 watt of power and they also can easily locate an device that radiates an RF signal legal or not.
     
  18. Fallguy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Right above you.
    http://i.imgur.com/1gmGRrT.jpg
     
  19. Fallguy

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Right above you.
    So how did these work for you ?
     
  20. JonEQuest

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    New Orleans Louisiana area
    I have those exact amps and they have done NOTHING! I got no extra range in several antenna setups including with the DBS02 antenna (which I love). I even tried to hook one of these amps up to my Wi-Fi router since I could use a little more signal strength and still NO INCREASE IN POWER NOTED. I think they may actually diminish my signal a bit. When using the amps with the Phantom, I could only go as far as I did without them but when I lost signal I was in the dark for a few minutes before I got signal back. My drone was already 3-4 minutes into the RTH flight when I finally got signal back. Like I said I bought two of the exact same "blackbird amps" check my posts here. I had high hopes but I quickly realized they have no effect other than making my controller heavy.