Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DBS MODS ITELITE Antenna Installation Questions

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by dedstik, Aug 19, 2015.

  1. dedstik

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    115
    Sorry if these questions have been asked / answered before regarding DIY installation of the DBMODS ITELITE antenna for the P3 controller:

    1. When you installed the new mini coax wire for the new antenna did you lace the coax under the controller's main board (as was the original) or did you just lay it on top without bothering to re-route it as the original cables were done? (Seems I saw a post somewhere where the coax was just laid on top of the main board and this seemed to work fine.

    2.How did you remove the external folding antenna "blades".

    This antenna is on B/O now but I plan on ordering one when they return to stock next week..

    TIA for any input,

    :harry
     
  2. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    The OEM antenna is held in place with a lip on one of the "halves" that got through the case. If you push in with a screwdriver on the one with the lip as you are pulling out on the antenna it will come out.

    The routing of coax is not critical so whatever works best for where you decide to drill holes. I personally did not go back under in the manner DJI did.

    I would recommend a drop of "goop" available at the hardware store on the small connectors where it attaches to the board. I used a small zip tie to hold the cables in place and a small drop of Goop to keep them from wiggling lose.
     
    Erik Somoroff likes this.
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    906
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Just curious if you had to splice or solder any connection with your install MCcabe? If so, what was your thoughts on that process compare to any you've done in the past?
     
  4. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Easiest install ever Frank. No splice and no soldering. DJI does not glue the connector to the board which was the bad part about the V+
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,208
    Likes Received:
    906
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    It's a no brainer that the DBS Antenna is the Hot Ticket.

    Now is your R/C a GL300A or B?
     
  6. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    It's a B.
     
  7. mark davies

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    What about the cables, them seem excessively long. Can we buy shorter ones or are the length of them important to the install and the way the booster performs.?
     
  8. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    mine is an A.
    is that good or bad?
     
  9. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Don it means you are less manly than I am. :)
     
    Dirby likes this.
  10. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    Do what?
     
  11. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    probably right
     
  12. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    You can tell you are from the South !
     
  13. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    well i was born and raised in Conn.
    left there when i was 29 years old.
    now i stays in AL.
     
  14. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    They are longer than I would like too. I am thinking about ordering two really stubby cables with 90 degree ends. I drilled my holes on front of the controller so I dont need long ones.
     
  15. DMac

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    15
    Roll Tide!!!
     
  16. AirWizard

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    ICT
    I would also like to know if shorter cables would work
     
  17. bimmy

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    17
  18. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    As everyone is complaining the cables are too long why don't they supply shorter ones??? Come on DBS don't spoil an awesome mod - you aren't DJI.
     
  19. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    They're maybe only longish if you're routing the cables above instead of underneath as the original cables are routed. Both length cables could be included as an option for people who wish to route the cables through the shorter path.
     
  20. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Ben he is talking about the outside cables. Not the inside ones.