Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DBS Mod

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by brianb87, Sep 14, 2015.

  1. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Think I'm going to try it myself.. I have a precision tool kit. Anything else I'll need?
     
  2. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    1/4" drill bit.

    I like to add a little Goop brand adhesive or hot glue to the coax connectors after you attach them to board to keep them secure. Otherwise pretty simple install.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  3. DJi Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    7
    Can you use hot glue on electronics ?
     
  4. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Never had an issue. You are just adding a drop where the coax connector hooks to to the connector on side of board. The cables are somewhat twisted into place and nice to have something to keep them from coming loose.

    Goop brand adhesive is my choice but its slow to dry.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  5. Bill Schroeppel

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    40
    Just make sure after the install that you always turn off the RC before you remove the cables to it. I like to remove the DBS so the RC will fit into my case and if you forget to turn it off before removing the cables, you'll fry the RC.

    DBS's reply to my question.

    It's a definite "possibility"... with most transmitters the 50 ohm load is needed on the radio or it will eventually burn out over time.

    DBS
     
  6. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I have always just used the hot glue that I swiped from my wife and is the white stick in a gun. I just redid a couple of mods from about 6 month's ago and that had started coming loose.
    Got this stick from a radiator shop glue stick.jpg and is the best stuff I have ever used .Way better than that white stick I used .
    After it cools it's a little harder to get off than the white stuff DJI uses but not like that black goo of death . :eek:
    Part houses should have it .
    Your welcome :cool:
     
    #6 dirkclod, Sep 14, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2015
  7. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    Awesome thanks for the info! I ordered it today so I'll just it a shot in the next few days.
     
  8. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    I'm surprised you find this necessary. After I connected the cables it didn't feel like there was any chance of them coming loose.

    On another note - what's the best way to drill through the controller? When I installed the antenna the 1/4 drill bit grabbed the plastic so hard it was trying to spin the controller in my hand. I eventually had to start with a very small drill bit and slowly work my way up. Even then, it was trying to bind/grab the plastic.
     
  9. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I'm surprised you find it not necessary . Was there not some on the cable you took off .
    And on your other note. Always start off with a smaller bit and work up to the size you want and Always look on the other side of where ya drilling so you don't hit no wires if you starting your hole from the outside of your case .
    Start your drill slow .
     
  10. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    There was some on the cable but not on the actual connection. Your original post made it sound like you added glue to the actual connection. I assume you meant the cable.

    Thanks for the info on the drilling.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    The goo or whatever ya call it has always been partly on the connecter and board and had to use an x-acto blade to get it off on all the ones I have took off . I thought it was on all the connecters .
    But always better to be safe than OH-Crap :eek: ;)
    I have done it a bunch and have always just put some back on wotblake .Just on top of the connecter to the board .
     
  12. StumbleBee

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Nashua, NH USA
    FWIW, I left my original rabbit ears in place. The DBS easily clears them and there is no interference with the wires. This meant I could leave the original rabbit ear wires in place after unlugging them.
    I know this makes for a less clean look, but on the other hand it is much easier to revert to the original configuration if I ever had to.
    The hardest part of this relatively easy job is reattaching the pc flex strip to the gimbal circuit board. It can be tricky and I found that a needle nose plier with a 90 degree bend was a great help.
     
  13. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    I love unibits (step bit). They dont grab and make a perfect hole.

    Hey Dirk, they stopped gluing the actual connector on the P3s like the older ones but the cables are glued in place. Much easier install.

    But the new cables need to be bent around to get to fit and a little dab of glue does not hurt.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  14. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well crap ! Ya mean I gotta learn all over again next week ! ;)
    Sorry wot I'm old school I guess :)
    **** new stuff gonna be the end of me !
     
  15. AirMan

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hey guys, I only got 6000 feet with my DBS mod antenna then I started losing video and RC connection. I thought it was supposed to go double that distance, right?
     
  16. okcorral

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    8
    How many times are you going to post the same thing over? A little reading and searching and you would have the answer.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  17. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I think this is the third post in a different thread.
     
  18. AirMan

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Sorry guys, I'm new to this. I figured different threads would have a different community
     
  19. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You only have to put it up one time-- there are guys cruising, just for the purpose of trying to help those with questions, so the post will be seen and answered.
    Cheers and welcome to the forum:):)
     
  20. AirMan

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks buddy!!