Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced DBS Mod help

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Jps962, Aug 17, 2015.

  1. Jps962

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just got finished with (or thought I did) the installation for the ITELITE antenna from DBS. I mistakenly powered up the RC without the antenna fully connected. When it came on I got a flashing red light followed by the beep. After realizing what I did I immediately powered down the RC.

    When I connected the antenna I'm still getting the same indicator. Does anyone know if I completely ruined this thing? Should I be looking for another issue?

    Thx
     
  2. Jps962

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Disregard. I got her all hooked up and the error went away. Test flight tomorrow :)
     
    phantom13flyer likes this.
  3. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Good to hear!! Good luck!!
     
  4. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Where can I find instructions to install this mod?
     
  5. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    On there website dbsmods.com or youtube .
     
  6. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Great! (Sarcastic). Did the mod. Followed instructions to a T. BOTH shorter cables are to short. One, 1 1/2 and one 2 1/2 " short. Arrrgh!
     
  7. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Can you post a couple pics of your install ?
     
  8. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg Some pics of install. Thanks. Will I change the resistance if I splice in length from the original antenna wiring?
     
  9. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Looks like you were able to complete the mod even though the csbles were too short . The longest cable goes to the 5.8 ghz connection and the 2 shorter cables are for the 2.4 ghz wifi module connection . Have you had a chance to test it out ? Good luck and safe flying! !
     
  10. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    It looks to me like the kit that came with your antenna is for the p2 vision +. It uses shorter cables because the wifi repeater is separate from the main rc controller. Are you sure you ordered the correct antenna from dbsmods.com?
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  11. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    I just looked on the dbsmods.com website and it's the same kit for both the p2v+ and the phantom 3 standard . I would email chuck at Dbsmods@gmail.com and tell him that your ufl cables are too short. They appear to be the old ufl cables that Originally came with the p2v+ kit. He will hopefully send you a couple out. If not there's a bunch of sellers in ebay that will have the cables you need.
     
  12. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can I splice and solder with shrink tube using the original wires? I can't fly with broken wings
     
  13. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    I suppose you could but I won't recommend that. There's several places you can order the right length ufl cables. Such as fpvlr.com, horizonfpv , ebay , amazon . You could probably get those 3 dollar cables in 2 or 3 days if ordered right now . I believe that would be much easier and reliable fix. Did you ever figure why you were sent the wrong cables ?
     
  14. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did send an email to DBS. Also cut, trimmed and soldered the wires. My Gosh! The actual wire inside is as thick as a hair on my head! Will test for reception later tonight. I'm hoping for free cables from DBS. After all, I did pay already. Otherwise I'll buy them.
     
    phantom13flyer likes this.
  15. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Cool. Hopefully it work at least temporary. Chuck will make it right and send you some cables. I'm impressed you were able to solder the 2 together like that . Those wires are freaking thin. Happy safe flying !!
     
  16. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    If you don't get a response in the next couple of days let me know and I'll send you what you need.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. GaDrone

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    North,GA
    Maybe he ordered this kit ITELITE DBS Phantom ITE-DBS01 for Phantom 2 Vision and Vision Plus

    Instead of this kit ITE-DBS01 STANDARD for Phantom 3 Standard
     
  18. TWebb

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    You are correct! I ordered from ITE, not through DBS. I have since ordered new cables and installed. If the weather will warm a bit (Chicago area) I'll take her up for a test.
    Ty phantom13 for the offer.