Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DBS ITELITE TEST

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Sheets7777, Jul 26, 2015.

  1. Sheets7777

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Eure, NC
    DBS Itelite, ok another test today I did film it and post it tomorrow if I get the chance just to back up my post.
    So here goes, I got less than a mile before signal dropped in and out. This is what I was getting before the DBS. I set the controller in the back of my hummer to see the screen because of glare and all signals went to full, so I pushed on. I went out to 11000ft before I lost all signal again. I think my hummer is a better antenna or it boosted the reception somehow. So two miles still nowhere near five. Also as I was going to 11000ft I would move the TX back out of the truck and immediately lose TX and HD signal.
     
    #1 Sheets7777, Jul 26, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2015
  2. Sheets7777

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Eure, NC
    Any ideas on why reception was solid in the truck and immediately dropped when moved outside.
     
  3. YolevonALLin

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    79
    Lesson learned. you dont even need a DBS mod, you just need a Hummer and no mod.
     
    Nannerz likes this.
  4. REBELimgs

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2015
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    91
    Did you happen to change orientation of the antenna when you went to the vehicle?
     
  5. Sheets7777

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Eure, NC
    Yes the antenna was pointed in the opposite direction of the P3, I'll try to post the video today.
     
  6. ViperNuke

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2014
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    103
    Intresting....
     
  7. bimmy

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hmm so in half a year everybody with a phantom 3 is also driving a hummer
     
  8. Sheets7777

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Eure, NC
    Flew again today and tried moving the TX back into the vehicle a F350 and nothing changed, very curious.
     
  9. marphtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello DBS/everyone,

    Quick question: On the DBS ITELITE Antenna setup. for the SMA Port 1 and Port 2, are those broken down into RC TX and Video RX possibly?

    The reason I ask is that I live in a remote area, and I want to put antennas on my roof with some 50 ohm cable to a yagi for the RC TX and a yagi or omni for the video and feed the cable a short distance to the inside to hook directly to the remote. I am hoping I can use this mod to plug in each roof antenna directly to Port 1 and Port 2.

    Is that possible?
     
  10. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    You put extender cables on a 2.4 GHz wire and you're in for some entertaining technical details. Signal loss is pretty high at these frequencies. Professionals use high quality cable (not nameless crap from China), good connectors with attention to detail in assembling them and, often, preamps next to the transmitter and receiver. It's going to be hard to create a system that you are envisioning that will do anything but waste your money unless you spend some quality time with the ARRL Antenna Book.

    Or just get lucky. It is anything but just connecting wires and antennas together.
     
  11. marphtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, but Ive already investigated signal loss and what cable to use. I have found numerous users that have success, and I am replicating their cable/antenna setup.

    What I am asking here is are the DBS ITELITE SMA Outputs for Port 1 and Port 2 broken down to one RC TX and one Video RX on the Remote Control itself.

    Side Question: I know the RC is 2.4 GHz (The manual indicates this). Is the Video 5.8GHZ? The manual doesnt say :)
     
    #11 marphtwo, Dec 22, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2015
  12. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Nope swap them back and forth, the remote output is obviously designated
     
  13. Shammyh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    154
    I do believe that the two antenna ports are different, however I have only anecdotal/personal evidence. And I'm not sure it's as simple as RX/TX stratification by antenna.

    Perhaps a closer look with my RF analyzer will be in order.

    The way I noticed is that only one of the antenna ports appeared to be radiating energy when I did my initial workup of the P3 comms frequencies/modulations, and also the behavior of the led lights on my boosters is not the same between antenna channels.

    There are a couple other folks on this forum who've done some analysis of the P3 RF as well, and at least one of them with a better RF analyzer than mine. I'm also a "shade tree RF engineer" at best. So perhaps someone else can chime in?
     
    marphtwo likes this.
  14. Jeriami

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    28
    I am getting an easy 18,000' each flight, and a 22,000'-24,000' easy on a zero wind day, 30-36mph up and back, every time i get 18,000 i still have full signal, with very few drop-outs, if any... by the way i am using stock antennas in a very densely populated city area, with row-homes & wi-fi all around. Have you tried just using the stock antennas before you upgraded?
     
  15. marphtwo

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes sir. I have the stock antennas now and can only get out about 3000 ft horizontal at around 350 ft altitude (of course distance is better at 700 - 1000 ft altitude, but I am trying to at least stay semi legal under 400 ft and under the radar). Probably due to all the other trees homes 2.4 Ghz interference. Hence why I want to put it up on the roof.


    Oh wait Jeriami is replying to Sheets 7777, but maybe my reply adds to your experience. I am getting shorter distances outside (but im around houses).
     
    #15 marphtwo, Dec 23, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2015