Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

data overlayed on maps

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by dewaynet, Mar 1, 2016.

Tags:
  1. dewaynet

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have seen people posting maps with data overlaid on them. It shows height etc.. its similar to the flat maps with lines, but the lines are in the air if it makes sense.. I cannot find a sample to show. Does anyone have any idea what im talking about or how to replicate it? lol
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,631
    Location:
    US
    That's data from a KML file. You can create a KML file by uploading your logs here.
     
  3. dewaynet

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    11
    thanks for the link and the information, i was referencing where you have a line on the map but your looking from ground level and the line goes up in the air as you ascend and descend if that makes any sense.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,631
    Location:
    US
    Yep. It makes perfect sense. That line is drawn with KML data. It's an XML file that contains a list of points and altitudes.
     
    dewaynet likes this.
  5. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Once you have the KML file, how do you use it?

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,631
    Location:
    US
    What do you want to do with it? If you just want to view it, you can install Google Earth and open the KML file to view it.
     
  7. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Thanks, yes that answers my question. Once a KML file is created, I had no idea how to make any use of it, and the OP'S question asked how to put the data over a map, so I wondered what the next step was.
    Thanks again msinger!

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk