Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Data lost no return home.....explained

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by AIRNUTS, Jan 30, 2016.

  1. AIRNUTS

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    53
    I was flying over the ocean early today and lost both video and data for more than 5 minutes there was no communication between the transmitter and the P3 pro I had a red light on the transmitter very concerned that my P3 never initiated RTH when is supposed to do it after 3 seconds of lost connection This went on for 5 long minutes....I finally got some data back and I did a manual RTH.
    Can you please check the healthy drones data to see exactly why this happened
    By the way on the following flight I turned the transmitter off on purpose to see if RTH was initiated and sure enough P3 went to preset altitude and returned home.
    Here is the link
    Thanks

    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
     
    #1 AIRNUTS, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
  2. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    Hi AirNuts,
    I have tried to analyze your data. It Looks like you pushed your range to the point of teetering between connect and no connect thus not triggering the RTH .
    The amount of No connect errors show this. Based on your rudder, you must have turned just enough to establish a good connection to start the RTH manually. Kind of a freak thing but it can happen. BTW, 5449ft is not to bad for out of the box. I know! Although if you would have had range extension hardware mods, you could have taken the bird a little farther out. Would love to see the video from it.
     
  3. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
  4. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    He does not add to this thread stating that he is using a 3rd party app though. Using the Go app with some third party apps has been known to do this.
    Have you tried to analyze his flight log?
     
  5. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Sort of looks like you never literally lost the uplink, although the yaw seems sluggish.If true, not technically losing the uplink may have kept the RTH from initiating.
    If you were using other than DJI GO, I don`t know.
     
    Blue Bird likes this.
  6. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    I did look at his flight logs but honestly, I am too new to find any different diagnosis from yours myself and it would be good to know if he is using the go app and if it is 1.6 because this would be a good start to proving that the problem isn't just with 3rd party apps with birds on the 1.6 firmware. I mean, he is only a mile+ out and with all of the connection loss notifications over 3 seconds, one right after the other it also shows that there were signals in between a couple of them like between m & n he would have had signal for 11 seconds right? So I thought of the Autoflight RTH issue and threw it out there for others who know more to think on :)

    We also need to know if he tried atti because according to the email, the problem with RTH is only in P mode I believe
     
    #6 Reed L, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2016
  7. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    530
    No professional here. You would probably need to download the flight data for a complete analysis. But... The healthy drone explanation for data loss doesn't state that you had complete loss of data. Is it possible that you still had intermittent connection during those reported data loss periods. I have seen others with similar questions learn that they didn't lose connection and were controlling the AC when they didn't think they were.


    Phantom 3 Pro / iPad Air 2
     
    Reed L and Blue Bird like this.
  8. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    In true reality, It looks like he just wanted to fly it back to china. LOL!!:eek: Just Kidding!
    All aside though, The analysis of this log by actual times at given altitudes and wind make a difference as well. He did a little flying around the beach and just punched the gas and flew out to the ocean. Ouch! My Battery hurts!! Hehe..o_O
     
    #8 Blue Bird, Jan 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2016
    Reed L likes this.
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    What happened is that your controller lost video and data from your drone but your Phantom still was receiving the signal from your controller.
    From 7:42 till 10:32 your drone just sat there wondering when you were going to give it some orders.
    You could have used RTH or flown it back into signal range during this time.
    The Phantom didn't enter RTH because it was still receiving signal but you just weren't sending any orders.

    It's quite normal to lose video signal before your Phantom loses control signal and it's lucky that it works that way because it allows you to initiate RTH.
     
    Reed L and WetDog like this.
  10. AIRNUTS

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    53
    Im using the Go app and I did lost connection for wayyyy longer than 3 seconds as I stated before my controller was showing a RED light for a long time, im going to upload the flight video shortly
     
  11. AIRNUTS

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    53
    Yes Go app
     
  12. AIRNUTS

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    53
    Here is the video
    Notice the lost video and data from 4.34 thru 4.36 there is at least 3 minutes missing in time, twilight zone

     
  13. ukglyn

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2015
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Staffordshire U.K
    I would agree that you never totally lost contact, & that signal was coming & going so never went into RTH, that said though I am far from an expert so could be barking up the wrong tree.

    I bet there was a few choice words uttered, & a few twitchy bum moments while you had lost control though, you definitely look pleased to see its return when you hand catch it on the beach.
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    Of course there's 3 minutes missing ... that's what you saw on your screen.
    We already knew that you had a black screen for three minutes.
    That's what the HealthDrones data showed.
    There's no mystery or "twilight zone".
    The camera kept recording for the missing 3 minutes and if you look at the video recorded on the SD card you'll see everything and in proper detail rather than the reduced resolution you see on your screen.
     
  15. phneeley

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    27
    In this situation (assuming intermittent signal), is it safe to assume that had he turned off the RC the bird would have initiated RTH? Would that have been advisable/not advisable for any reason?
     
  16. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    Can someone clarify this please. What I've learned is this is NOT the best thing to do (but will work) as there is some other procedure that can retain manual control in case it fails. Something to do with C2?

    I'm only a month in. Learning fast.
     
  17. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,770
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    Yes, it would have ... his Phantom was just hovering there waiting for some control.
    Loss of control signal will trigger RTH.
    It's easy to test this and every Phantom owner should properly test RTH so they understand how it works.
     
  18. John Lo

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    19
    I would like to ask if rth triggered, the home point should be in miles away cause u are in the moving object, am i right? If there is true, you are so lucky that u still can get the link back after 3 minutes.
     
  19. phneeley

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    27
    That's what I figured, but wondering if that would have been advisable/best option in this particular scenario, given that intermittent/dropping signal might have precluded a manual RTH input from getting to the bird.
     
  20. RCFantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Toledo, Ohio
    M
    Good thing you weren't in front of that ship when you went into a hover