Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Damaged PV camera, replace, fix or swap to GOPRO?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by JustJames, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my short time with this thing I had had some ups and downs. Two downs to be exact. Both about 5 feet of the ground..both ending with the copter on its top. I'm new, I made mistakes and i have since corrected my flying and habits to try to minimize this in the future.

    The problem is that I most likely have damaged my camera. I say this because while i originally thought I just had some bad vibration causing "jello" in my picture.. it was much more. Through trial and error I replaced the props, two motors, checked every wire and connection I could see, replaced the pillow mounts, updated all the software ..everything I could think of. The thing flys great now but I still have the jello. And it's not just jello its waves of MONSTER jello that destroy the picture. I even attached a go pro on top of the PV and recorded simultaneously the native camera. The PVs camera has the crazy waves and the Go Pro does not.



    ********UPDATE*******NOT BROKEN****** IT WORKS FINE JUST CHANGED THE VIDEO SETTINGS FROM 1080P TO 1080I OR LESS AND ITS SMOOTH AS SILK**** (interlacing issue) ***THX TO IDone and justsomeguy!!*******************************************************************************************************************************



    Being that this thing is so new I don't even know if there is an option to replace the camera right now. At least not in a timely manner. The same goes for repairing. I'm guessing sending it back to DJI will take a loooong time to get back. And would it end up costing me more than the $500 camera costs with shipping labor parts etc?

    I am thinking of replacing it in the mean time with a newer GoPro. The one I currently have is a very early model. I will miss the slick interface and telemetry stuff but I bought this thing to fly for fun and take unique video and pictures.

    Below are a couple pictures as an example.
    What are your thoughts?

    James
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
  3. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a shot hovering a couple seconds before the rotating and going up. Thanks for the..input.

    James
     

    Attached Files:

  4. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty sure you have me confused with another guy. I remember the thread. He hit a tree. Mine drifted and touched a wall. Yes I f@#%d up. Like I said Im new and didn't have the skill to fly this in a relatively close area. Admitted. Got it. Really I do. Also unlike the guy you were thinking of I didn't buy my PV at Drone fly I bought it at Aerial Media Pros. I had no intension of trying to fix the camera my self. I was looking for obvious stuff. I did successfully repair everything else in MY GARAGE. It's not rocket science. And it flys perfect.

    I do appreciate constructive criticism and input. And I mean no offense but there are a few..luckily the minority..who have a tone in their messages that I do not like or appreciate. So that said. I am open to any other positive ideas or thoughts.

    oh and P.S. I fly after hours only at the station. Rigs clean sir. :)

    James
     
  5. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    I have found the "friend or foe" option in the user control panel can be incredibly useful...
     
  6. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    "Rigs clean sir." LOL!

    Did the camera head suffer an impact (actually on second thought, don't answer that). I don't think what you're seeing is an interlace issue (interlace issues occur on a line-by-line basis, for example if you shot a video in HD [1920 X 1080] every other horizontal line [roughly half of 1080] would be offset from the other half of 1080). This looks more like a sensor drive/scan issue (wrong frequency).

    If it were mine, I'd remove & open the camera & pull the PC boards out one by one (they sandwich together) to check the MOS sensor flex cable to make sure it's firmly seated & clamped to the PCBoard that it plugs into (it uses a delicate lift-tab lock, be very careful - you can find photos of it disassembled elsewhere on this forum where a member downloaded the photos from the FCC).

    If you're familiar with current surface-mount electronics, go for it. Otherwise I'd leave it alone and get a dealer to take a look at it, such as AerialMediaPro's or DroneFly. If all it is is a loose flex cable or connector, you should be back in business toot sweet.

    iDrone
     
  7. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just re read your post. I agree that looks very similar. I will research this. I apologize. I misunderstood what you were trying to say initially. I was off base. I reacted due to some of the negative vibe that I've seen in previous posts. Thanks for help.

    James
     
  8. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Were those pics you posted freeze frames from a recorded video and not still photos? If so how did you capture them, on the screen of your iDevice? Very confusing. If you shoot 1080i while there's motion, when you pause it during playback you'll get combing. The lower the resolution of the camera or system or simpler the CODEC that processes it, the worse it gets and more pronounced the bands.

    Most of sample photos posted on the internet of motion interlace are fabricated to illustrate the phenomenon because it's actually hard to see. A motion freeze frame of a 1080i recording is a lot finer, but will of course look worse if downconverted to fit a lower resolution screen.

    The downlink video we see in the DJI app is limited to a max of 640x480, so yes if you pause 1080i playback you'll essentially get two fields of 240 interlaced to make 480, with each line probably doubled to fill-out the display on your iDevice. If you pop that microSD card out and play that same video on an HD monitor and freeze it, it won't look anywhere near bad as the screencap you posted.

    Here's a real example of a freeze frame in 1080i:
    http://panasonic.net/avc/lumix/compact/zs20_tz30/video.html

    iDrone
     
  9. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Sorry, my bad (Lol) I meant that for JustJames... I thought he posted JPG stills and his camera was screwing up JPG's (which doesn't use interlaced mode). But if those were screen caps off the device's downlink of a paused 1080i playback then it fits, and there's nothing wrong.

    iDrone
     
  10. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Weird I just responded but my post didn't go through.

    Basically I said that yes they were still .png format from my mac. I played the video on my MacBook Pro and paused the video where the video was at its worst. When hovering its fine. When motors are engaged they video gets bad. The faster they spin the worse it gets. I will post a short clip when I get a chance to see if that helps clarify the issue.

    James
     
  11. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Check your props for clipped/bent tips & balance. As long as your props aren't missing a chunk off their tips and are feathered smooth, it should fly w/o too much vibration. Install your spare props for comparison, then put your originals back on 'til you get the hang of it.

    Check your motors for bent shaft/loose mounting. Then switch the camera to 720P (in app) and it should look awesome, no more field-interlacing issues from fast-pans, fast-action, or minor vibration.

    iDrone
     
  12. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    I replaced the props with new ones, changes 2 motors one was slow and one had a bad vibration, replaced the 4 rubber dampeners, refreshed the software....it flies great..like new but STILL have the video issues. Like I said when I shot with my GoPro and the PV camera at the same time and loaded the video onto my Macbook Pro via the SD cards the PV vid was bad the GoPro was smooth as silk.

    I am on duty today. When I get home tomorrow I will do some more experimentation. I will try switching to 720 to see if that helps. If it does I will be stoked. Any test or setting changes you would recommend? I am running out of ideas.

    Thanks,

    James
     
  13. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Sorry, I see all that's in your original post. So your PV is flying soundly (GoPro footage confirms) so remains the question, why not the PV's footage?

    One reason may be that not all .mp4 files are the same nor do they necessarily playback in all players & programs the same. First I'd look at the PV's original .mp4 file using another player program or computer. If that's not handy I'd put the microSD back in the PV, light it up (along w/range extender & iDevice), launch the DJI app and play one of the video clips to see how it looks on your iDevice. If it's clean there, it'll likely be clean in full HD when played back properly in a computer. If you see the same problem there, then it might suggest a camera problem.

    If you can upload a short sample clip to a free file hosting service (there's plenty of 'em) we can take a look & maybe figure it out.

    iDrone
     
  14. kingcat200

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    What an offensive post. All the guy asked for was some advise .
    May I suggest you get away from your computer screen and interact with real adults in the real world and remember or perhaps learn how to communicate in a respectful empathic manner.
     
  15. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    A propos of nothing...

    If you click on a user name you get the option to "Add friend" or "Add foe". I've found one of these very useful just lately. Clicking on one of those seems to help filter out a lot of negativity from posts...
     
  16. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Guy... This is not what we're out here for. This forum is designed to allow people with the same interest to interact and supply individual knowledge to a pool of info that's available to all. I've learned a lot on this forum and I've only been able to help out once or twice so far... as I'm a Newb... But please... lose the negativity. It doesn't help anyone or put you in a good light...

    -slinger
     
  17. whitewatersalvo

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^ Doubtful, after a brief look over your posts here they have almost all had a negative tone.


    Friend... or foe?


    Onto the issue at hand I actually don't have much to contribute :oops:

    I think it is slightly outrageous they want us to pay 565 bucks + tax for a new camera.... once they become available, but thats the way it works I guess.
     
  18. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright guys Im officially putting this guy on the list. I'm not sure why he gets the impression that I fly aggressively. He talks about me like I'm some jerk who has no respect for public safety. For the Record I am a Firefighter. I take public safety very seriously.. VERY. That is my job. I am a grown 40 year old married man with a 2 yo son who I love more than life it's self. I would never put him or anyone in danger. I don't fly over playgrounds buzzing small children or in busy cities where it can fall out of the sky and hit someone. The flying I have done so far is typically very slow and controlled. That is why I bought this because it is easy to control and smooth to take video. It would not make sense for me to fly AGGRESSIVELY would it? The 2 times I "crashed" were both at the fire house flying very slow. Both times I drifted due to a slight gust of wind and BARELY touched the wall. It fell 80' away at 5feet or less of the ground far from any of my fellow fireman. NO ONE was in danger! As for fixing this in my garage I am a red blooded American..thats what we do is tinker in the garage and fix and build. It is not rocket science. I come from a family of mechanics, software designers and computer specialists. This isn't my first rodeo. My PV flys perfect. So please GO FIND SOMEONE ELSE TO BADGER!! I'm trired of it. Thats not why 99% of us are here and its not necessary. Move on...I am. I will not see or even care to see your responses from here on out.

    To every one else..thank you for your help thus far. It has been educational. I also appreciate you sticking up for a fellow PV owner and calling a spade a spade.

    I took some video at my local park today. It was a beautiful day and I tried sooting in almost every format 720, 960, 1080I 1080p. I will post results when I get the chance. My fingers are crossed.

    James
     
  19. JustJames

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    *********SUCCESS********

    THANK YOU SO MUCH! Especially to iDrone and justsomeguy. Your experience and knowledge help a ton. You were correct on the interlacing issue I presume. I switched the settings back to 720, 960, and I think 1080i. They all looked great with no wavy noise! I feel so green and new and a little dumb if we are honest. I was sure it was a hardware problem. It seems it is not. Merely a setting. CRAZY! So simple. I was thinking the worst. Thank you again for your help.

    Have a great week and a Happy Thanks Giving.

    James
     
  20. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...

    THIS is what the forums are all about. Most happy that you're squared away without an empty wallet... :D

    -slinger