Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Crashed - Silver Lining - New Phantom "3"

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by rrhansen, Jul 4, 2014.

1. rrhansen

Okay - the thread title is a little bit of a hook (there is no phantom 3 ... yet :cool: ).

Like so many good pilots have already experienced (I'm not one of them) - I just took out the P2V+'s camera and gimbal...big time. I'm pretty sure it was pilot error - so plenty pissed at myself...but won't repeat that mistake again. Enough lamenting.

Silver lining - I bit the bullet and ordered another P2V+ after 'rationalizing' the cost down to only $119 or a new P2V+. And now, I have a great (camera/gimbal-less) flight trainer that's a kick in the butt to fly since I'm not afraid to pile it up at only the cost of a prop or two. I'll keep the new P2V+ for video work and continue to improve my flight skills on the 'trainer'.

Silver lining #2 - (and here's the Phantom "3" part): the way I figure it, as soon as DJI comes out with their next platform (6-12 months), the supply/demand for replacement P2V+ gimbal/cameras will tip, and I'll be able to pick up a replacement for about ½ of current $680 pricing. That'll give me two P2V+'s - (don't ask me why...it just seems to make sense...maybe just my little bubble world)

Thoughts?

2. Dirty Bird

How did you take out the camera & gimbal?

3. rrhansen

Straight down crash landing from about 70 feet onto grass. Destroyed it. No VR S, no prop guards issues, I believe it was pure pilot error. Long story. Rookie mistake. Lesson learned, do not panic.

4. Phantom_Menace66

Mine crashed a couple of months ago and I did the same thing, bought another and use the P2V- (minus the cam/gim) for practice etc, which has turned out to be very handy indeed. As you said, If they ever become affordable to replace, I'll put a new cam on it.
    Damned if I can get it to circle a stationary object (usually me in the middle) while pointing directly at me... It's hard.

5. garrock