Crashed PV2+. USB and GPS not functioning. Hard to repair?

Reaction score
Hey guys, Newbie here. If this topic was listed anywhere else I apologize as I couldn't find anything related.

I recently purchased a PV2+ unit off eBay. Flew it a few times and then over this past weekend, I decided to be an IDIOT and tried to whip it around a small tree. I got too close and one of the props hit a tree branch and the unit went crashing into the ground. It don't believe it took a very hard hit as it fell from about 8-9 ft onto the sand/grass but the battery did pop out. I picked up the unit, cleaned it off and powered the unit back on. I was able to fly but the GPS was no longer functioning properly. So, I tried to calibrate the compass. After the horizontal spin the LED light would go solid green and when I tried to do the vertical spin the LED lights would just flash yellow. Also, no Satellites were registering with the unit.

When I got home I attempted to connect it to the Phantom Assistant Software and found that my USB port also isn't working. The computer would not recognize it at all. I spent 3 hours switching computers and removing and re-installing all the drivers/software. I believe the fall might have knocked something loose.

I have been hesitant to open the unit as my knowledge on such repairs is very limited. I called a local DJI Dealer and asked if they repair Phantoms and was told they do. I set up an appointment and went to drop off the PV2+ and when he inspected the unit he told me they did not repair PV2+ because of something to do with the Gimbal. That was a bit disappointing as I really do not want to send my PV2+ back to DJI for repairs, I've heard it takes a while to get back.

My question is, how hard would it be for me to open the unit and attempt to fix this issue on my own? Assuming something just came loose inside I don't see how it could be very difficult to fix.

Any input or tips are greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance