Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

crashed phantom, need help!

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by thephantomguy, Feb 11, 2015.

  1. thephantomguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone
    I crashed my phantom for 50m up and now it wont work. I replaced the gps because it was cracked and I've done a advanced calibration and it still wont work. When I calibrate the gps/compass it flashes to show its calibrating but it doesn't flash green showing its ready to fly with gps, it only flashes yellow slowly. Then when I try engage the motors the lights flash red 5 times quickly.

    is it in a mode that I dont know or is it more serious. Hope someone can help.
     
  2. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Plug the Phantom into a computer and run the Assistant software. Verify the presence of the GPS on the firmware screen.

    Was the GPS module that you used identical to the one you replaced?
     
  3. thephantomguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The gps was the same. I'll try plugging it in again the computer again.
     
  4. thephantomguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone else have any ideas.
     
  5. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    Only that five Red flashes indicates: 1st Level Low Battery Capacity Warning.
     
  6. thephantomguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll try changing it but, I don't think that is it.
     
  7. thephantomguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Other than battery warning is there any other meanings for 5 quick red flashes when engaging motors.
     
  8. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    plug it in assistant again and go to Upgrade tab.
    any number in the GPS line like 6.1.2.... or are there all 0's

    if 0's then your GPS module is unplugged or toast.
     
  9. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    so did you replace the entire gps unit or just replace the ceramic antenna on the gps module.
    If you replaced the entite gps it should seem unlikely that you got a new one that is not working.

    But if you just replaced the ceramic antenna check the solder connection on the pin to make sure its soldered in good. But some times even with a replaced antenna if the gps board is broken or the connection for the compass. Its toast.

    If you replaced the entire gps unit. Then do as the poster above suggested and see if it even shows any thing under the upgrade tab in the naza for your gps. you dont want to see any thing like gps firmware or hardware number that is just 0's
    If the gps is a known good gps unit and still showing 0.0.0 or any thing like that under the upgrade tab. Then go see what it says for your compass mod values in the tools tab. if you also are seeing nothing for the mod values for the compass as well as nothing for the gps if you know your gps is a good new working unit then you could maybe have some thing busted on the phatoms main board along the canbus circute or the plug for the gps or compass on the board.
     
  10. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    I don't either.
     
  11. thephantomguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks so muck guys, I'll try plugging it in a see what happens. I replaced the whole gps.