Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Crashed my P3P

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by apd3984, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    So I crashed my Phantom 3 into the roof of our house the other day. I was flying it when a message popped up on the screen that I was entering a no fly zone. We live close to an airport, but it is on the other side of the Interstate and I didn't realize our house was on the edge of the zone. Anyway, while I was looking at the message the Phantom hit something on the roof, slid down and landed on the deck. The gimbal was broken and the camera was hanging on by one cable. The other cable that goes into the Phantom itself had been ripped off the plastic connector. The body of the Phantom appeared to be intact, except for the propellers which were pretty banged up. The camera itself also looked to be okay. I finished removing the camera and spun up the rotors. They all appeared to be working fine and aren't making any horrendous noises. I was wondering, is it possible to remove the cable that is still connected to the Phantom? Is it attached to the board by another connector or is it soldered directly to the board? IMG_5723.jpg IMG_5724.jpg IMG_5725.jpg IMG_5726.jpg
     
  2. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
    Jbundy63 likes this.
  3. Josh Curtiss

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Illinois
    Those pics look straight out of the eBay "broken camera/gimbal for parts" auctions hehe.. Sorry to hear about it, hope you can get it working!

    Josh
     
  4. SkyLabBoston

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hit me up I can walk u thru repair. I stock parts also if u need


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Jbundy63, apd3984 and bobmyers like this.
  5. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Sounds good!!
     
  6. StumbleBee

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Nashua, NH USA
    So your P3P hit the roof due to your distraction reading the 'airport no-fly zone' message, NOT because the software was trying to put your bird on the ground? According to DJI it would not have crashed your quad.
     
  7. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    Paying attention ( Yet another hard learning tip. )
    Thanks for Manning up! These posts will help others if that helps.
    1836529uy0u5jsdq5.gif Sorry for your Loss
     
    apd3984 likes this.
  8. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Yeah I freely admit it was 110% my fault.
     
  9. suck it up

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    72
    Wow, that is great! Some one that can say it is their fault.

    Hat's off too you!
     
    apd3984 likes this.
  10. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Thinking about it though, I just remembered there was another question I had. I also saw a message on the screen that said something akin to "upgrade needed" didn't get a chance to inspect that further due to the crash. All my stuff was running on the latest firmware, so not sure what it was referring to. Any ideas?
     
  11. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Okay so I finally got around to attaching new blades and trying it out. It flew without a hitch. Cranked up the speed and raced it up and down the cul de sac and then took it all the way up to 400 ft and zipped it around in the sky. The only issue I saw was the "no signal" reading on the app. I did push the RTH button and it landed where it took off from. Next step is to buy a new gimble attachment and whatever cables I need and reattach the camera.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
  13. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    I just repaired mine with almost exactly the same broken bits.

    I replaced that plate, it was $9 and I fixed the cable. The wires plug right into the end firmly with a pair of needle nose pliers one at a time. Some carefully placed adhesive with a toothpick and i'm back in the air.

    I ordered a cable pack but it is working fine, I may not replace it unless I have to open it for something else at a later date.
     
  14. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    This is what the repaired cable looks like.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. __astronaut

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    11
    I have the same message after upgrade mine to v1.3.20, which is the latest according to dji.com. I have seen a number of people with the same issue. Some say keep flashing the same latest firmware over and over fixes it. Some say reinstalling the DJI Go app couple times fixes it. I choose to just ignore it until the next firmware arrives ... hopefully soon for the waypoint, POI, follow me features.
     
  16. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    I had the same after my crash. I unplugged the cables and reseated them and it went away.
     
  17. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Unfortunately a couple of mine were damaged because they made contact and started smoking like they were about to catch fire.
     
  18. apd3984

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Auburn, Alabama
    Well the parts came today and other than a pain in the butt to take apart, it was surprisingly easy to fix. No apparent damage to the camera at all. It's recording and taking photos. No error messages while flying. Took it up as high as it allowed and flew it out as far as I could, until I hit the low battery warning. Guess I have to decide now whether or not to keep it or sell it as I'd already bought a new one, before I stupidly realized maybe I could fix it. Oh well, live and learn!!
     
  19. SkyLabBoston

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    Glad to hear u got fixed!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk