Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Crashed my new p3 adv, what now?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by 420pro, May 4, 2016.

  1. 420pro

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just crashed my new p3 adv against a tree and then it fell upside down on pavement. I would say it was about 15 ft high. I removed all the props and checked it out and then i turned it on, and all the motors still work. But when i put the props on and turn the motors on, one of the props keeps on hitting the frame because it's bent pretty bad. And also the camera fell off with the gimbal but since it fell upside down i'm pretty sure the camera/gimbal still works. The yaw arm broke off the phantom and the ribben cable snapped.

    Potential cost:
    1x New motor (if needed) 20,-
    New frame/shell 60,-
    Ribben cable 45,-
    Camera/gimbal (probably not needed) 320,-
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Quadcopterpilot

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
    You also need 4 new props, would not use the old ones.
    Lots of people selling parts on this board, take a look at what they have.
    You could probably use the frame, just pop-out and back over the snap,put some tape over the hole.
    OR, time for a P4
     
  3. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's a tough call. Even if you replace the parts listed. It still might not work.
    The main board may be damaged. Check what errors you are getting.
    Some people would sell the remote and buy a new P3. The new one will give you an extra battery and charger.
    If you already have enough battery's you could sell the new one too.

    I would investigate all avenues.
     
  4. 420pro

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can i check what errors i'm getting?
     
  5. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    As I understand you have already powered up craft.

    Startup RC,AC and app. See what error messages appear in go app.
    The status screen (1st one you see in Camera view) should show errors.
    If there is ESC error that means main board or motor problem.
     
  6. CCDD

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    US
    I would sell the one you have and buy new. At current prices, these are becoming somewhat "disposable" and often not fixing unless one truly knows what they're tinkering with.