Crashed and fixed gimbal, camera issues. Please help.

Reaction score
Hello all, greetings from sunny Costa Rica.

To make a long story short, I crashed onto a palm tree and ripped off my camera, even though I was using the DJI carbon fiber looking guard. Did some research and in the end a friend ended up ordering the yaw, roll arm and ribbon cable replacement parts for me. (from fstop-labs or something like that) After a couple of weeks, I got the parts and after watching three different youtube videos, I was able to repair the gimbal fairly easily. Of course that was too good to be true. I fired it up and even though the gimbal seems to hold steady, it is transmitting a scrambled video signal, that seems to be also weak, as if it loses signal easily.

I was thinking lightbridge and/or connectivity issues, but I am pretty new to the hobby. I had a P2 (killed the zenmuse gimbal and sold it without it, kept the go pro...) and I recently bought this P3A, that I was so excited about and was even able to use it for some work related stuff ( we all know that's just an excuse to fly...)

If one of you has heard about or experienced these issues, I would deeply appreciate your input. I would send it to a repair shop like the ones you recommend, but being in Costa Rica, the logistics are nightmarish.

Appreciate the help and sorry if it is a well documented issue that you have already discussed.

Check ribbon cables please and their connections. Something seems to be loose.

Thanks, I will try that. It flies perfectly, just the video and photo signal comes up scrambled on screen.

It may be hit or miss with the aftermarket ribbon cable. OEM cable is bit more costly but it works.