Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Crash!!! Help me diagnose and fix!

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Ell, Jul 14, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Ell

    Ell

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I was flying my drone today 10 feet high-pressed the return to home button and instead of coming back the drone automatically flew straight up-hit a tree- and crashed on the ground dismembering the ribbon cable strip and causing other minor damage as far as I can tell. the metal attachment that connects the camera apparatus to the drone itself also flew off but i put it back and it seems to hold in place...but not certain it will hold in place if i actually start flying with it again.
    Can someone verify thru the pics all thats wrong with the drone, if I can fix it myself, or my cheapest route to having someone else fix it in the shortest time possible as I really need this drone for my colorado expedition:)
    Cheers and thanks!
    El
     

    Attached Files:

  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,104
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    When RTH is activated (either manually or automatically), your Phantom will first ascend to whatever RTH altitude is set in DJI GO. For that reason, you should never manually activate it when there are obstacles above your Phantom's current location.

    As for the damage, it looks like you'll need to do the following:
    • Replace the gimbal ribbon cable (you can get one from Amazon or DJI)
    • Reassemble the two gimbal parts (they are held together by magnets)
    • Remove the screws from the bottom of your shell so you can open it slightly to pop the tab back in
    If needed, you can find videos that show how to replace the gimbal ribbon cable and disassemble the shell here.
     
    Ell likes this.
  3. Fly Dawg

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Watkinsville, Georgia
    You do realize that when you press the RTH button that the Aircraft will go up to the RTH altitude you set before coming back.
     
    Ell likes this.
  4. MasterBlaster

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    GA
    I hear of so many crashes like this with same scenario as above. Others have crashed because return to home was initiated and the OP then try's to still move the sticks. This stops the RTH climb to RTH altitude and starts on its way at whatever altitude it is at.
    Although, this would have saved the OP n his scenario.
    You would think they could add some way of disabling this, thus causing crashes from someone who did not read thoroughly the section about RTH.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #4 MasterBlaster, Jul 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  5. Ell

    Ell

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    guys im forever in debt to all of u. thank u so fuckin much, goin to get this baby up and running again by sat!
     
  6. Ell

    Ell

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    @msinger u are an angel. thank u for the specifics and structure of your post! how confident are u that this is all thats wrong with my drone thru the pics? going to follow the video and have materials prepared on sat. I took the drone for a flight and everythin still seems to work without camera. only one thing...i have this dent/opening in the shell of the drone- have a picture of it above i attached. can I tuck the plastic back in or somethin? is it goin go effect the aerodynamics having that slight space exposed?
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,104
    Likes Received:
    5,627
    Location:
    US
    Other things could be damaged (internally possibly too). That's all I can see in your photos though. Fix what you can see first and go from there.

    See my 3rd bullet point above. You should be able to pop that tab back in if you loosen the shell. If you decide to leave it as-is, I don't think it'll negatively affect the flight.