Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional cpgz file extension on bin file

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by bub, Sep 7, 2015.

  1. bub

    bub

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Attempting to update firmware on p3p and keep getting a cpgz file extension on the bin when i try to unzip it. Has anyone else encountered this? Using a mac, OS X.
     
  2. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Try this:

    Change the .cpgz to .zip and double click on it again.
     
  3. bub

    bub

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks but that still gives me another zipped file
     
  4. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Try downloading it again, it may be corrupt.
     
  5. bub

    bub

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did and that fixed it. the third time is a charm. thanks for your help
     
  6. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    Cheers!
     
  7. moswissa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Los angeles
    Im having this issue right now, I downloaded it 5 times and still no luck
     
  8. Zerone

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    S.Wales, UK
    This usually happens with a corrupt file. Even if the source file is OK, a browser download can finish too early (0nly 99% downloaded, etc) and the file becomes unusable. Sometimes re-downloading a fresh file can solve it, but as you've tried 5 times already, I'd suggest you try a different browser, or different machine.

    If extracting a .zip file creates a .cpgz file, then extracting that file will usually create another .zip file and will contine back and forth in a loop.
     
  9. John Decker

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    62
    +1 for a different machine. Maybe Windows.
     
  10. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Mine did that too. A fresh download gave me a .bin file. What browser are you using? Maybe try a different one?