Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Course lock for dummies

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Angel, Sep 27, 2015.

  1. Angel

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone that can explain how this works for silly people like myself?.
    I update to the latest firmware and when I go to fly it I cannot understand how it works....
    Thanks!
     
  2. Max Nilsen

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Norway
  3. Angel

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, thanks mate!
     
  4. AndreGtable

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    Home lock saved my drone yesterday at
    .7km out when my screen died!
     
  5. Angel

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    How could you set up Home lock without the screen?. In the Phanthom 3 you would need to select it from the F-mode in the screen....
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Maybe he had it on home lock when he lost picture-- in that case, you would pull back on the stick it would come straight back to you.
     
  7. FunN4lo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    57
    TTT does great easy to understand vids. He has one updated for the P3.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  8. FunN4lo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    57
    The OP asked about Course lock. Not to hi-jack his thread, but....I "assume" by screen died, you mean the screen went black with no fpv video, not actually died. I ask because I have wondered I you could operate Home Lock when the screen goes black
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I would assume that it would work if it was in Homelock-- the P3 is in Home Lock and losing the signal shouldn't negate that -- my assumption.
     
  10. AndreGtable

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2015
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    Lol sorry guys i was talking about my P2 has a switch on the RC
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Makes a difference:D:D
     
  12. FunN4lo

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    57
    If you loose the video signal, doesn't mean you have lost the RC signal. If I still had my android devices, I would test this, but my iPad Mini doesn't go screen black on every flight. :eek: I don't see why HL wouldn't work, screen black, just wondering if someone has actually tested it.
     
  13. DroningOnAndOn

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    19
    What real life use is course lock for flying/video taking?

    I'm really not sure of why it's exists.
     
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If you want to move parallel to a subject and keep the camera pointed in the same direction-- course lock would work great-- ie-- filming rowing racing on a river -- one example
     
  15. DroningOnAndOn

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    19
    But what's the difference between pointing at the rower and just pushing right aileron rather than pre-setting the nose direction, turning sideways and then having all your controls mucked up?

    I just doesn't seem to make any sense to me personally and just mucks up you innate orientation knowledge.

    If I was going to film a race, I'd probably rather use the mode where the drone moves solely in a direction you set and you simply pan and tilt the camera whilst speeding it up slowing it down. Or use a cable cam/waypoint and adjust the speed in between them so you truly get a nice straight line shot.

    I might be missing something here but it just seems odd to me personally.

    If the P3 had a switch like was side before and something failed so you can just use 'back' to bring it back to you regardless of orientation, then that would be ok and extremely useful.

     
  16. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You can always bring it back by pulling straight back on the right stick. What about locking on a runner on a track with the camera and following him around the truck-- centered in the frame-- you are moving parallel with the track back and forth-- left and right-- and you can move closer to the track or back away-- forward and back-- I am going to a track and experiment :D:D:D:D