Correct workflow? Framedrops?

Reaction score
Hi!

I don't know if it's framedrops in my videos or some kind of jello effect giving me this look. It's not perfectly smooth as you can see here:
http://youtu.be/dN9aUOVytBc

My workflow for this video:
1. Shoot in 2.7k protune, 30fps
2. Import to GoPro Studio 2.0
3. Convert the video to 23,98 fps and remove fisheye. Quality is on high.
4. Take the new ".mov" file and import it to Final Cut Pro X.
5. Put the settings for project in FCPX to 1080p, 23.98fps.
6. Since the video is a little bit in slowmotion (30fps->23,98fps), I ramp the speed up to about 120% in order to get back to normal speed.
7. Does some color correction before exporting the video (master file).
8. Upload to youtube.com in order to get feedback what went wrong.

Maybe it's just a ND filter that is needed in order to blur out lagg?
What do you guys think? Is my workflow correct?

I'm no expert, but if you're dropping the frame rate to 23.98, you're dropping those frames forever. Pumping it up to 120% doesn't bring them back. If you want slo-mo at 30fps then you have to shoot it at a higher frame rate or live with a sputter.

Leave it at 30 fps all the way through the workflow. FCP and other editing platforms will introduce artifacts when you speed ramp clips, not to mention extra unnecessary processing time. Want North America NTSC compliance shoot at 30 (29.97) or 24 (23.98) and leave it there all the way through post. If you want European standards shot at 25 or 50 and leave it all the way through post. Hope that helps a bit.

I usually have my settings with 24fps (23,98) in Final Cut and the only option when shooting in 2,7k is 30fps, that's why I convert it to 23,98 in GoPro studio. I thought it would be better to match the project properties (23,98) with a file that is in 23,98 as well so that is my reason for converting. I should not do this then?