Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

COORDINATE TO A HILL ???

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by june8, Jul 30, 2014.

  1. june8

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Guys,

    I'm a very new user for phantom.

    My question is; if there is a hill front of the phantom and if I order to coordinate the phantom to go top of this hill by GPS. Does it goes directly to the top automatically without any risk of crash or should I be so carefull about it ?

    Thanks for your kind respond

    June8
     
  2. twhphantom

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    You want to have an idea of the approximate height of the hill and program your waypoints to stay above it.

    Where I live our trees are all at about 80 = 90' high but the hills around me can be much higher so I have to be very "aware" of altitude when using autonomous mode to fly.

    Also remember that the aircraft will travel to the point and height linearly so make sure there are no small trees in the climb out!!!

    Hope you enjoy flying but be very very careful these machines are smart but they need a good leader to make them work! :D
     
  3. june8

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Friend,

    First off all Thank You very much for your kind and quick respond.

    I've got your points very well.

    To programming waypoints only includes the ways of directions. When we program it we shouldn't expect the gps will automatically calculate the height of the hills or mountain or etc.

    Thanks again
     
  4. ToThePoint

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Antwerp, Belgium
    GS works only in 2 dimensions.
    The 3th dimension in this case is YOU !
     
  5. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    Please think before asking such questions. How'll the p2v+ even know the height of the mountain ahead of you and how'd it know where you want it to be and its heading.
     
  6. ___

    ___

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Google maps (maybe just earth?) seems to have elevation information. I don't have much experience with the waypoints, however, the waypoints map on the app looks a like like google maps. It would be cool if that elevation info layer would be "known" to the phantom.
     
  7. cahutch

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Sonoma County, CA
    To answer your question. No. It will fly right into the side of the hill. Or tree, or building.
    It has no idea what the terrain is, you need to manually set the altitude.
     
  8. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    Technically non feasible