Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Converting 4k to 1080

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jhanner1, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. Jhanner1

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    Any suggestions on a good converter or downscaling software? I want to make my 4k footage a little easier to share and play on multiple devices.
     
  2. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    What platform are you running? What software are you using to edit?

    Most of the editing software can encode to a more 'normal' format so you don't need some gargantuan PC to run it.
     
  3. Jhanner1

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
    p3p. I just just started using power director 14, im pretty new to video editing. The footage runs pretty smooth on the ipad but lags and stutters on my laptop and i5 desktop. Plus the file size is absolutely massive for the 4k footage,
     
  4. Marty Johnson

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try GoPro Studio. It's a free download from GoPro's website. Handles 4K and downscaling to 1080 very well and is easy to use. You'll need a fairly powerful computer. I use a late edition MacBook Pro.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  5. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I'll have to give that a try next. It sounds promising.
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    It will do conversions to 1080p. The only downside is that you cannot cut/chop what want unless its recorded by a Gopro device.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  7. robby3265

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    21
    Wondershare video converter
     
  8. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    Thank you. I've got several programs for cutting & editing but they are all on my "older" laptop which does not get along well with 4K video. I've got a new laptop that will handle the video but all of my "paid for" programs are on the older one so I need to resample down to 1080p and then use the other programs. Seems like a lot of work that I should just buy all the programs new and put on the new laptop LOL
     
  9. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Why can't you transfer the licenses of the "paid for" programs from the old to new laptop?
     
  10. nparker13

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    3
    Handbrake is a great program I believe is cross functional.
     
  11. BigAl07

    BigAl07 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    1,267
    Location:
    Western North Carolina
    I could but I believe that would leave the software nonoperational on the old laptop which we still use a lot. Does that sound correct?
     
  12. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Yea, it does. Guess that's not a good idea. Unless you check the licensing of the software you're using. In rare cases you can install the software on a bunch of computers, but only use it on one machine at a time. Doubt that's your case though, but I've seen it...
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  13. Marty Johnson

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I edit P3P 4K MP4 video all the time with GoPro Studio. Am I missing something?
     
  14. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Maybe I'm missing a few updates. My GoPro Studio 2.5.7 wont let me trim (the trim functions are greyed out). I can straight convert but I cannot trim.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Here is a shot of mine, and my trim buttons are active. But for the life of me I can't seem to find where I can get the version number of Studio! There's no Help-->About in the silly thing... Where the heck is it???

    GoPro Studio.jpg
     
  16. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    The video you have is from a Gopro device. It says GOPRO278.MP4 file. What I am referring to is NON-Gopro video like from the P3/P2 Visions.

    On a side note, to find your version, go in control panel > programs and features. The right column should contain the version info.
     
  17. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    Oh crap. Sorry about that...

    Yea, I should have known that. Thanks.
     
  18. Marty Johnson

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm running 2.5.6.75 Mac version. I'm fairly sure GoPro Studio doesn't care where the video came from as long as it's in a supported format. Wish I had a quick answer, keep looking!
     
  19. dspear237

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    9
    That's where Avidemux comes in handy. I use GoPro Studio as well, but I recently crashed it due to trying to edit numerous 4k MP4 files without trimming them first. Avidemux allows you trim files (losslessly) without having to re-encode. This makes it easier to import and edit in GoPro Studio. It's also freeware.

    Avidemux - Main Page
     
    Mako79 likes this.
  20. Zigs

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    46
    Best secret out there . . . Sony's Catalyst Browse. Free, PC and Mac, full 4k gamut color grading, transcoding. The sensor in the P3 is made by Sony. This software sucks the best out of it. Did I say FREE.

    -- zigs
     
    tml4191 and Marty Johnson like this.