Converting 4k to 1080

Reaction score
Any suggestions on a good converter or downscaling software? I want to make my 4k footage a little easier to share and play on multiple devices.

What platform are you running? What software are you using to edit?

Most of the editing software can encode to a more 'normal' format so you don't need some gargantuan PC to run it.

p3p. I just just started using power director 14, im pretty new to video editing. The footage runs pretty smooth on the ipad but lags and stutters on my laptop and i5 desktop. Plus the file size is absolutely massive for the 4k footage,

Try GoPro Studio. It's a free download from GoPro's website. Handles 4K and downscaling to 1080 very well and is easy to use. You'll need a fairly powerful computer. I use a late edition MacBook Pro.

Reactions: BigAl07
Try GoPro Studio. It's a free download from GoPro's website. Handles 4K and downscaling to 1080 very well and is easy to use. You'll need a fairly powerful computer. I use a late edition MacBook Pro.

I'll have to give that a try next. It sounds promising.

I'll have to give that a try next. It sounds promising.
It will do conversions to 1080p. The only downside is that you cannot cut/chop what want unless its recorded by a Gopro device.

It will do conversions to 1080p. The only downside is that you cannot cut/chop what want unless its recorded by a Gopro device.
Thank you. I've got several programs for cutting & editing but they are all on my "older" laptop which does not get along well with 4K video. I've got a new laptop that will handle the video but all of my "paid for" programs are on the older one so I need to resample down to 1080p and then use the other programs. Seems like a lot of work that I should just buy all the programs new and put on the new laptop LOL

Why can't you transfer the licenses of the "paid for" programs from the old to new laptop?