Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Controls work but no connection to app, no video

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by sonof40, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    !cid_b051e411-13c2-46ae-abb6-2048b491d717@icloud.png
    I can't get the app past the 4 initial steps described on the image above.

    After selecting Phantom type, the forth step is to backspace and select "camera."

    The camera button doesn't get highlighted so I can't select it.

    This is after about 15 tries with the Mini 2, if I use the iphone 6 I can click on camera but there is no connection to the Phantom.
    I'm on day 3 of trying.
     
  2. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Are you doing this:

    Launch GO with device NOT plugged in to the RC
    Select your aircraft.
    Scroll one screen to the "How to connect"
    Power up RC
    Power up P3, wait for green on the RC.
    Plug device into the RC
    Scroll one screen back.
    Press Enter Camera View
     
  3. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    Thanks for the reply, I followed instructions to the letter. But no camera view. still shows "How to Connect"
     
  4. DeputyDrone

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    20
    Seems like I had to go into the app function and disabled USB or something like that. Anyone else recall that procedure? After, it recognized the tablet and all is well.
     
  5. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    If you can't get into the app, then how can you change it?
     
  6. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    That was probably the USB debugging for Android devices.
     
    #6 Oso, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
  7. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    So if you are following directions, including NOT plugging in your device until almost the last step, have you already tried a different cable? It could be a cable since you said its not working on your iPhone 6 or your Mini 2.
     
  8. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    Yes I've tried 4 different cables. I can't even get into the app to verify the version.
    Following the same procedure with the Iphone 6, I CAN click on the camera button but I get the "disconnected" button.
    I can verify ver 2.4.1 on the Iphone.
     
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    Try pulling the cable and reconnecting it.
     
  10. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    thanks. The lightning cable is reconnected with every attempt.
     
  11. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Okay, so you've tried many cables so that's not it.

    When you opened up your RC the other day, did you perhaps inadvertently disconnect the USB jack internally?
     
  12. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    Good point. I did go back in to check again but I was very careful not to even stress any connections and spent a lot of time inspecting. Wish it were that.
     
  13. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    I have the same app in both the ipad mini 2 and the iphone 6. I wonder why they respond differently. Neither one connects but at least the iphone opens the app.
     
  14. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    You may have disallowed the popup that shows when you plug in the phone/tablet. essentially telling the phone/tablet to not communicate with the controller. Not sure how to reset that choice. Go in to settings, then notifications, and make sure everything is turned on. Something like 7 options. Then test again.
     
    Oso likes this.
  15. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,533
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Earlier you said that the camera button doesn't get highlighted with the Mini 2 but it does with the 6. That means both had the app open. You do realize that if you see the "How to Connect" screens that you are actually already in the app?
     
  16. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    I will check that. Thank you.
    edit: Yes there are 5 and all are "on"
     
    #16 sonof40, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
    III% Streve likes this.
  17. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    I realize that this sounds off the wall but... If you are using a different SD card then the original 16 gig with an update on it, throw it in and see what happens. I had a bad sd card give me camera problems. I reloaded the firmware that I put on the original card into it and it works. I had a bad card with an update that continually failed because of the card - a 64gig freebie
     
  18. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    This is a post ultimately from blade Inspire forum. Somewhere in the dji forum for the P3, support suggested this too so it's probably fine to do. This resets the controller and brings video back.

    Try the steps bellow:

    - Press the C1 + C2 + Shutter buttons and keep them pressed and TURN OFF the controller.
    - Then still keeping pressed the C1 + C2 + Shutter buttons TURN ON the controller.

    The controller will do a reset and the video link will be back.

    You can search the forums for this to possibly find more info on the procedure. Good luck.
     
  19. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    Another good point.
    Thanks, I took your suggestion but no luck.
     
  20. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    I tried it. Unless I did it wrong it did not seem to have an effect. Thanks for the input though, appreciate it.