Controlling the GoPro Hero3 while flying

Reaction score
I'm brand new to all this. And I'm trying to figure out what Quad / Camera / Equipment to get. I keep going back to the Phantom 2 with the H3-3D Gimbal and a GoPro Hero3+. Seeing all of the discussions about not using WiFi during Flight, FPV has to be part of the solution ... but it seems that I really haven't found any solutions to controlling the Camera while in Flight ... or maybe I just haven't looked in the right places. Can you control the camera? ... like taking stills while in flight and sending them back to a smartphone/tablet ? .... or do you basically turn on the camera taking video ... take off and use the FPV to get the shots that you want .... land ... and turn the camera off? Seems like if that the case it sure limits the capabilities of the Hero3+.

Thanks for any help .... G2HTs

afaik you are correct and there's no way to actually control the GoPro while in flight. You understand the reason behind not having the gopro wifi on, yes? on a P2 non-vision your RC operates on the same frequencies.. it's not wifi specifcally, but the same frequencies so if you have the gopro's wifi on, as your Phantom moves away from you that gopro transmitter will rapidly become a stronger signal than your RC and your Phantom can do any number of things, best case being Failsafe (return to home auto-land), worst case being a total flyaway (LOTS of cases of this)... and believe me these things are fast it could get VERY far away before you even know what happened so better safe than sorry! never use gopro wifi while flying. I turn the gopro wifi on when on the ground to manage the settings quickly via iPad but then of course you need to turn it back off.