Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Controlling drone from PC?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Rob Dyer, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. Rob Dyer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi all

    New to this but just about to buy a Phantom 4 and I was wondering if it's possible to control it from a PC and how it could be done? I'm thinking maybe the smartphone app could be emulated on the PC and then use some kind of converter box that translates the PC output to RF or perhaps connect the PC USB direct into the Phantom control box.

    Anyone done this before or am I barking up the wrong tree? Perhaps another drone already enables this?

    Thanks for any advice!
    Rob
     
  2. Lawrie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi Rob lots of points there. Firstly I doubt anybody would say it's not possible, because almost anything is possible with time & money . Is your question serious commercial interest or general hobby interest? If latter, I would highly doubt it. The obvious question here is why - majority of us love flying ourselves so this seems odd to ask.. Hope this opinion helps. Cheers


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  3. Rob Dyer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the reply Lawrie. I was just wondering if I could make a project out of it to see if you could remotely fly these things from within a building using a PC and joystick and maybe just waypoints on a map. When Amazon gets going with them I'm sure they will have to automate it somehow.
     
  4. Lawrie

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I got it now Rob - good lateral thinking idea. Interested if any others have ideas on this.. I'm not aware of any doing this, particularly internally sans GPS, but I take your point someone will be..


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
    Rob Dyer likes this.
  5. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,075
    Likes Received:
    1,632
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    All control APIs are available from DJI and you need to develop an app for PC. Unfortunately DJI Go App currently is not versioned to run on PC.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    Rob Dyer likes this.
  6. Rob Dyer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the info.
    I've since found that DJi do a "Ground Station Wireless Data-link" that seems to do exactly what I'm looking for however it only show compatibility up to the Phantom 2 for a PC running the ground station software. It looks pretty awesome to be honest with lots of useful features.
    Question is of course would it run with the Phantom 4 or are the control signals running a different protocol? You can find it at www.dji.com/pc-ground-station
    Thoughts anyone?
     
  7. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    It would take some jiggery pokery to make it work with a PC these days.
    Since it uses/used google earth/maps and google stopped all development of google maps so Data-Link stopped working with PC and now only works with iPads & apple maps.It ran with PC's up until December 2015.
    There was a 3rd party app that was working with it but I have not heard much about it lately.I think it was UgCS or similar.
    I don't know if it would work with a P4 or not.It might have a conflict with Lightbridge.
     
    Rob Dyer likes this.
  8. ADobrovolskiy

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    10
    Rob Dyer likes this.
  9. Rob Dyer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's great thanks AD. This is almost exactly what I'm looking for. Just need to cut out the middle man Android and enable the antenna to be positioned outside. I think I'll give it a go - just got to borrow and Android and test it out.
    Many thanks
     
  10. ADobrovolskiy

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    10
    Unfortunately we can't eliminate Android device at all - DJI provide only mobile SDK.

    For external antenna - I saw videos on Youtube how to modify P4 RC controller for use external antenna. It's not very complex but of course will break DJI's warranty, at least for RC controller.
     
  11. Rob Dyer

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm wonder if they'll upgrade the wireless data link device then or if it's a policy decision now.
    I figured there must be plenty of controllers on ebay from folks who crashed their bird, I'll have a look for one there that I can dismantle :)
     
    ADobrovolskiy likes this.