Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

controller Mount for TP link 9DB wifi antenna

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by eculuke, Feb 11, 2014.

  1. eculuke

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    Guys,
    I was afraid my question was going to get swallowed up in the huge 102 page thread on the repeater mods. I was wondering for those of you who went with the TP link 9db antenna...what did you use to mount it to the controller? Im hoping the get something on amazon that will do the trick. Looking for any advice.
    Thanks Guys
    Luke
     
  2. eculuke

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    i know alot of you guys have this setup....
     
  3. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just have to copy what you have seen or get creative
    I have seen double sided tape, Velcro , go pro mounts, camera quick disconnects , band iron the list goes in it's whatever works for you
     
  4. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
  5. pinfish

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I am using the actual holder for the Iphone. I use the Ipad mini and have mounted that a different way which left me with the phone mount. There is a silver mounting piece that comes with the TP link and that clips perfect into the phone mount. You can buy them as an accessory.
     
  6. eculuke

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    Still trying to find a tablet mount that will clip to the bar on the transmitter
     
  7. eculuke

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    Nhoover so you just mount yours ontop of the wifirepeater....doesnt that effect the signal...assuming you only hook up one antenna wire?
     
  8. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    For now I just used a large zip tie cut and screwed it down.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. eculuke

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    GBshovel...is that effecting the performance of the stock extender below? Do you have just one antenna hooked up?
     
  10. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    No its not, tried it last night and had no issues. Went way further with video than ever before . Didn't pay attention to actual distance but was almost double what it was. Only one antenna was disconnected.
     
  11. bonedoc

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, this thread has raised some questions. Some people are getting worse results, which I think is due to the lack of understanding as to what each antenna does within a pair. Can you guys answer this?

    viewtopic.php?f=4&t=9956&p=85451#p85451
     
  12. jimdenburg

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Mukwonago, WI
    ^^^I think this one has been overthought. I haven't seen anyone get worse results from this mod. alone. The only thing I can addso far from my experience is be careful drilling into the extender or you'll break it and have to get a new one.
     
  13. flight-of-eye

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Coast, Northern Cailifornia
    Do you have a pic of said antenna?
     
  14. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    I replaced both antennas in the repeater. I have two connectors and can use any pair of antennas (or just one). If I know I'm not flying far, I just stick on a 5dBi omni.