controller connect issues

Reaction score
First of all, hello. I'm new to these parts. I received my Vision yesterday and have since been attempting to update the little monster. I installed the two drivers. The first driver confused me because it called for connecting to the "controller." I tried that a few times, but finally thought to connect it to the Vision itself in order to have the driver successfully install. Then I installed the Assistant and had it update the Vision to the latest version. The assistant informed me that I must update the controller to version 1.08 in order for it to now be compatible with the updated Vision. Here is the problem. Whenever I try to connect the controller, using a micro usb, to my computer the assistant does not recognize it. I get the message to, "connect controller." Why is this? The controller is in the "on" position and connected to the computer. And don't even get me started on the adobe camera upgrade...

I am a having a kind of similar problem (phantom 2 non-vision, h3-2d gimbal, gopro black). Since i got my phantom two weeks ago, i was never able to connect the controller to the assistant software. it doesn't recognize it. I am using a mac. I saw people with similar problems on this site, but none ever came to a conclusion that fixed that problem for me.
However, the phantom itself connects to the software, and i flew it a couple times fine. I can calibrate the remote control when the phantom is plugged via USB into the computer. But the software doesnt see the remote control when its plugged in via USB.
& now suddenly, tried to fly it yesterday, and i'm having a problem where the gopro is tilted down all the time, and the X1 controller on the phantom remote control doesn't fix anything. Again, i saw other people with the same problem, but i saw no posts on this site about this compounded problem.