Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Constant Beeping - No Firmware Update

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Thkimmel, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. Thkimmel

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys, I replaced the shell of my drone. Everything went smooth, but when I turned it back on there was this constant beeping with red light on the front of the gimbal. Been at it for about 10 minutes now.

    Could it be I didn't connect something properly?

    I am connected to my remote, but it won't let me fire of the motors.

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    That sounds kind of like a issue with a ESC. Is any lights on the arms lighting up?
     
  3. Thkimmel

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm sorry to be ignorant, but I don't know what ESC is.

    I did figure this out. When this one wire is unplugged, it does not beep.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    That's the compass data cable. Try calibrating the compass. Did you replace the landing gear as well? The compass comes with new landing gear however not with the shell kit.
     
  5. Thkimmel

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did replace the landing gear, yes. I had some issues with that wire, I may have sliced it. I couldn't figure out how to replace the antenna piece without messing up the compass wire.
     
  6. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    The shell kit comes with landing gear, but the compass does not come with them. You can purchase just the landing gear for about $12.00 from any authorized DJI dealer. The landing gear by it self comes with a new compass.
     
  7. Thkimmel

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The kit I purchased had the compass with the landing gear. As I was trying to put on the plastic piece that attaches to the landing gear, I sliced the compass wire. I can't find a video on how to replace this particular piece.

    Maybe the picture will better explain.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Blue Bird

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Dade County, Florida
    The antenna that go's with the compass has a slot down the side of it for that wire. It looks to me that you have the wrong antenna at the compass location.
    Remove all the antennas and look for the one with the wire slot.
    You can run thru this video for some answers.
     
  9. Thkimmel

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for he link. Funny enough, this guy had the same problem and ended up just glueing it without putting it back right.
     
  10. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Well so now you know why you are having the issues you mentioned.

    I'm curious why you sliced the compass wires from the landing gear?
     
  11. Thkimmel

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I obviously didn't slice them on purpose. When I was reinstalling the antenna piece of plastic, the compass wire got caught. After doing research I found out that this is common and most folks are just leaving the antenna plastic out a bit and just glueing it, instead of trying to get it lined up just right.

    Have a new one in the mail, will take my time next time.
     
  12. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,214
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Let's hope all the troubles are behind you now.