Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

connections for air-side ground station

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by edibob11, Dec 11, 2014.

  1. edibob11

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78717
    Can someone please tell me where the two wires coming out of the 2.4G DATA LINK item go (should be attached/connected to?)

    Is there a good, DETAILED video or write up regarding how to install the ground station? I took the cover off and was shocked by all the goodies inside. I have had several flights with this Phantom 2 with H3-3D gimbal & Go-Pro, and FPV. I tried switching to NAZA to get ioc working, but that never worked right.

    But now my issue is these two wires. Are they maybe antennae?

    HELP PLEASE!
     
  2. madsonp

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montana U.S.A.
    Do you have a photo of the wires you're talking about ?
     
  3. edibob11

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78717
    GS-Air.jpg
    GS-Air.jpg

    Hope this shows up
     
  4. edibob11

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78717
    How do I get an image from a MAC to this forum *%&^%#???
     
  5. edibob11

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78717
    I now believe these two wires are antenna wires, so not to worry.

    I connected the air-side of the ground station to the iosd which has the right connector (which was already installed on my Phantom).

    Next is the power needed for the ground side - can a Phantom battery be used for this - 11.1 volts?
     
  6. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes, use the phantom battery
     
  7. Chriserl

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the wires are the antennas. Keep them outside the case to get decent range and put them 90 from each other.
     
  8. edibob11

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78717
    Thanks for the help. Now must drill a hole in shell to get wires to the right places!

    Thanks again
     
  9. edibob11

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX 78717
    I have attached the CAN connector of the air-side on my Phantom to mi iOSD mini, and the air-side hardware is inside the shell, I need to drill a hold in my shell to get the with through there. It all seems to be working - in "SIMULATOR" mode, but until I cut the hole, the phantom isn't ready to fly.

    The instructions for setting up a MISSION seem somewhat lengthy, but not overly difficult. BUT if this sucker doesn't work, I'm toast. I am assuming that if it works in SIMULATOR mode, it will work in real mode. IS THAT A VALID ASSUMPTION?

    However - I tried updating the firmware in the 2.4g datalink, and that did NOT seem to work.

    Where can I find the "2.4G Bluetooth Datalink Assistant software to download to my PC? I downloaded something, but that looks like ground station for the PC. Is there a sight for the assistant software somewhere, just for updating the air and ground portions for this ground station application?

    Thanks
     
  10. Chriserl

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it runs through the sim it should work fine. Even if you lose connection in flight it will continue on the loaded flight path so if you have planned the flight and it ends close to the home point you will get connection back.

    http://www.dji.com/product/ipad-ground-station/download

    I believe that's the link to where to get what your looking for
     
  11. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    In addition to moving the CAN/BUS off the leg to the inside and connecting it with a shorter cable, I also removed the cases on the data link and the iOSD and then shrink-tubed them saving 16.7g, or 0.59oz.

    [​IMG]