Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

"Connection To Phantom Failed"

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Help' started by TheHawk, Aug 1, 2016.

  1. TheHawk

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    On Phantom 2 Vision, have had it over one year with very good results. Do not know what triggered this, but now get a message on IPhone6 when trying to start camera or album in DJI App that "Connection To Phantom Failed". I do show in my setting area that the Phantom and IPhone are connected and when going to the App, it shows connected to Phantm XXXXX, but get above shown message when tryin to start camera. have rebound camera several time, have Bluetooth turned off, have checked all software/firmware updates which are the latest, have rebooted IPhone6, have deleted and reinstalled the DJI App, all with same result. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. Nwfoto

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having this same issue. Has anyone figured out what's going on?
     
  3. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I believe when you see "connected to Phantom xxxxx" it is referring to the signal being transmitted from your extender to your mobile device. But there is another signal coming from the camera itself and it's that signal which needs to be received by the extender. And it seems that for some reason, that's not happening. So it seems you need to try to bind again. The binding is between the extender and the camera. So I'd try that and be patient after you finish because the extender needs to reboot itself to complete the process and it takes time. Wait for the "binding successful" message or the "binding failed" message.

    Another possibility is you have a bricked range extender which was a big problem a few months ago but I don't think it's a problem now.
     
  4. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Do you get telemetry data , battery distance etc, the update issue affected FPV only not telemetry. To see if the camera is transmitting a wifi signal use a program called INSSIDER to view wifi, my signature has my YouTube channel in it have a look on my channel for a video on using Inssider.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  5. Nwfoto

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey crash1sttime, and Mark the Droner, thanks for the responses! With this there is no data at all being transmitted to the phone. I'm attaching a screenshot of my iPhone just after I try to connect.

    I attempted to connect directly to the bird this morning without the range extender. I was able to connect to the wifi but got the same error when I opened the camera screen. Is there another way to narrow down if the issue is software/firmware or hardware?
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,013
    Likes Received:
    1,172
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    Did the wifi have the same name as before... was it Phantom xxxxx ?

    I remember reading in the manual that you want to be sure to connect to Phantom xxxxx and not another wifi signal because it's apparently possible to connect to the wifi coming straight out of the bird, but the range will be extremely limited. In other words, you don't want to do it.
     
  7. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    First off watch this video, and make sure that their are 2 wifi's being generated
    1) phantom_Xxxx which is the one from the range extender
    2) an unnamed SSID which is the wifi from the camera make a note of the MAC address

    If both are showing your wifi is fine

    Reset the range extender using the small reset button,? Hold until the system light goes out.

    Once the extender is reset connect to the phantom_XXXX wifi and then open the Dji app go into settings and bindings and choose new camera and enter the MAC address you obtained earlier.

    Click the top blue button and exit settings and close the app

    Now wait, the range extender will reset itself

    Connect again to the phantom_xxxx network and open the app and see if you are now connected


     
  8. motobob

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA, USA
    I downloaded the wifi software and can see the phantom wifi signal but do not see the unnamed wifi signal you mention for the camera. My P2V has been in storage about 9 months in a box and as I got it out this weekend, I can get everything working fine except the camera feed to the app on my iphone 6. So am I to suppose that the camera wifi transmitter went bad sitting in storage and I would have to send it in for replacement to DJI? Thanks for your help as I was able to determine I was not getting a camera wifi signal. I followed through with rebinding with the right QR code but obviously if the camera is no longer transmitting a wifi signal, than no luck. Bob
     
  9. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Daft question

    Is the switch on the back of the Camera set to wifi?

    Any lights on the camera