Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Connection Lost at 430 feet?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Frubzy, Jan 4, 2015.

  1. Frubzy

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all.... new user here, i have the v2.I did alot of research on the forums before purchasing and flying. On my 2nd flight i lost connection at around 430 feet, (connection lost appeared on the display) i remember reading somewhere that even though i lost video feed i should still have control of the bird. Unfortunately I didnt, the inputs didnt work and i assume RTH was activated. After descending a few feet the feed came back so i flipped the switch to regain control and flew normally for a few more mins before landing.... not going more than 400 feet in any direction.
    My question is, is this normal behavior?
    btw i flew straight up which i know might have somethig to do with the loss of connection,but 400 feet isnt that far.
    It was more or less in the country side, a few houses on the street, no major interference that i can think of.
     
  2. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    Sounds like the FPV was lost but you still had control of the craft. The need for pointing the wifi booster at the craft is very important.
     
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    This is normal, and the distance will increase a little more each of the next 10-12 flights. The wrote the software like this so that newbies that don't read the manuals before being familiar with the quad.
     
  4. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?


    If 'they wrote the software' that way, they also certainly wrote the manual so one cannot find it there. 'Cuz I sure can't find anything in my manual that states that.

    Perhaps you can tell us where it is.
     
  5. JJM

    JJM

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    In for future comments.
     
  6. rotorwash

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?


    I would like to know if this is true. I already did the stage 2 because of my distance issues
     
  7. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    :D
    There are a few things that will limit your distance.
    Antenna position is one. If the bird is directly above you, the tip of the transmitter antenna is the weakest signal. Try flying aways out in front or angle the antenna a few degrees.
    Any obstruction, even trees can block your signal. If you use a tablet/pad, that can block your signal, especially directly overhead.
    You should always charge your wifi extender before flying.
    It's normal to lose wifi before control signal.
     
  8. csauer52

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Morrisville, NC
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    Check out the Wiki:

    Powering on the Range Extender
    1.Flick the power switch to the ON position.
    2.Wait for approximately 30 seconds. The Wi-Fi signal indicator will blink green indicating the Range Extender is communicating properly.
    3.Keep the Range Extender facing the aircraft during flight for the best communication link.

    http://wiki.dji.com/en/index.php/Phanto ... e_Extender

    [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZsNVzDvTaME[/youtube]
     
  9. Frubzy

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanx alot for the reply guyz... i wasn't paying too much attention to the position of the range extender,i will definitely remember this next time...

    i was most concerned because i lost control as well, not just the video feed.... the aircraft wasnt responding to my inputs, instead it started RTH......, i thought the transmitter range would be more solid... unless it started RTH as soon as it lost video?
     
  10. HopHopper

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny South Africa
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    "btw i flew straight up which i know might have somethig to do with the loss of connection,but 400 feet isnt that far. "

    Is there not a height restriction of 400ft coded onto the Bird?
     
  11. JJM

    JJM

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    That's the default limit. You can change it.
     
  12. HopHopper

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny South Africa
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    Therefore it begs the question if the limit was changed.

    If not :)

    `could that not be the issue??
     
  13. Frubzy

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    wow.... great input hop......
    no this default limit was never changed.., and it happened just after i crossed 400ft, i also regained signal after descending below 400....could this be the cause?
     
  14. JJM

    JJM

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    Well I changed my limit and got the same warning because I hadn't oriented the TX antenna properly.
     
  15. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    The height/distance limit does not affect the wifi repeater.

    I'm still waiting for verification of this so-called 'way the software is written that you lose wifi on your first 10-12 flights', and allegedly the distance magically increases with the number of flights.
     
  16. Morgon

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    453
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    I wouldn't hold your breath, you still have flying to do.
     
  17. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    I know about it from experience. I bought 3 quads last year, and I noticed starting with the 2nd quad that right out of the box my quad would get to 400ft or around that range and the Lost Connection would pop up on the monitor. I even purposely had my wife watch it take place on the last one I bought. Now she normally wouldn't get involved, but I just happen to bet that if went above 500ft I would take out to her favorite restaurant. So she watched and shook her head cause it 420ft on that one. At around 7 flights I made it to the 800-900ft zone, 10 flights was 1350ft range. and 12 seem to disable the feature cause I was at 1800-2000ft with no booster app and stock antennas. And finally adding the V+UP app allowed me to make with still stock antennas to reach 4300ft range.
    As a side note: all the mentioned distances were straight up altitude numbers. I have since stopped going to those altitudes because in doing so you are right on the edge of being super easy to loose your quad, and I have spent numerous days being unsuccessful in finding my last quad that I actually watched go into a cornfield 1/8th away.
     
  18. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    13
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    I'm sure you checked this already but there are two power levels for the transmitter. One is CE - the default - limited to 300 feet. The other is FCC which gets you about 1600 feet. That doesn't explain the loss of video feed at 430 feet but it could explain the loss of control around that mark.

    Scroll down to "Compliance Version Configuration"

    http://wiki.dji.com/en/index.php/Phanto ... Controller
     
  19. CaptainZero711

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    Also check your vertical and horizontal limits in the DJI software.
     
  20. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    Re: Connection Lost at 430 feet?

    If this were true, then 95% of noobs would be flooding the forum with the same question. Sorry. But a 'study of one' isn't exactly empirical proof.