Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Connection issues

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Steve Hoggard, Apr 21, 2016.

  1. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Phantom 3 Advanced. I use my Samsung S6 Plus Edge with it with fully updated software.

    I used the drone and took footage 2 weeks ago. Packed it up and took it out a week later and the DJI GO App will not connect to the camera.

    Someone suggested I update firmware but all the instructions for that say to use the app to update.!.?.

    This Drone belongs to our local Boy Scout Council. We need more footage of an event this weekend... any suggestions?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    Only the remote controller can be updated from the DJI GO app. The Phantom and battery updates are a manual process. You can find detailed firmware installation instructions here.

    Have you tried reinstalling DJI GO? How about trying a different mobile device?
     
  3. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did try reinstalling the app.

    The device ran the app and connected to the device perfectly 2 weeks ago. However I did try with my wife's iPad mini with the same result.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    Is it possible that someone updated the remote controller firmware via the DJI GO app? Odd things will happen when the Phantom firmware and remote controller firmware are out of sync.
     
  5. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am the only one with access and I know I didnt do it.

    My phone recently updated but I cant remember if it was in the time frame that could have effected it. Is it possible that had something to do with it?

    I did uninstall and reinstall the app today.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    Can you explain "the DJI GO App will not connect to the camera" in more detail?
     
  7. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I start the drone, start the RC, connect the phone to the RC, Launch app... I select the drone from the list and all I get is a button that says "how to connect" before I would get a "camera view" button. I did get the camera button once but when I entered Camera view I got a black screen and a grey "disconnected" bar on the top of the screen. The GPS Screen showed the correct location but I did not have any camera control and no information from the drone at all.
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    Did you try to rebind the remote controller to your Phantom?
     
  9. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure what that means. So I don't think so. Sorry, I am a pretty new user...
     
  10. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    The phantom responds to the controller,I can even still control the camera gimbal. The bird will fly just no camera controls.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
  12. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats a great idea but I cant get into camera view. The DJI App will NOT connect to the drone.

    I am starting to fear I am going to have to buy the scouts a new 1000.00 drone.
     
  13. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    it is asking for a compass calibration but again.... how do you do that without access to the app?

    Very frustrated...
     
  14. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Silly question, but do you have the correct model selected in the Go App home screen?
     
  15. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a silly question, it is not out of my range of stupidity... but no, correct model is selected...only one option for Phantom 3 Advanced.
     
  16. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    If you can't get to cam view, where is it asking for a compass calibration?
     
  17. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Is it scrolling this message in red on the home screen??
     
  18. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    LEDs on the drone Alternating red and yellow lights. According to the manual this is "compass calibration needed"
     
  19. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to attempt different phone cables and a different device. maybe its the update, maybe I have a bad cable. The phone recognizes the cable when plugged in but does not mean the cable can transmit data... Apparently this is not a common problem so the issue must be with my device or connection.
     
  20. Steve Hoggard

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the help, let me know if you have any other ideas....