Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Connection Failed - looking for answer in forum

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by peterlindsay, Aug 10, 2014.

  1. peterlindsay

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys. Yesterday after hand landing the phantom vision I tripped over my takeoff box and although the phantom did not hit the ground it got a good shake while I hit the ground.

    I now get the "connection to Phantom Failed" message on my screen. I have checked all the external connections, made sure the camera plug is well seated in as well as the rotorpixel plug, rebound my camera, re downloaded camera firmware and installed ..... but still no luck.

    I use a ipad for my screen (and I have the same problem if I use my iphone). The sd card / battery / satellite symbols are greyed out and the wifi symbol lights up blue at the beginning then goes grey. The phantom flies fine.

    What can I test other than what I have done above to see what has been shaken loose or broken. Is it the camera? I have looked at all sorts of discussions re "connection to phantom failed" and I have tried everything I have seen in there to try.

    Help is appreciated.
     
  2. peterlindsay

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    still can't find an answer
     
  3. Jayson Hanes

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida USA
    check the wiring between the gimbal base and the phantom (the grey stringy looking ribbon cable).. maybe you can use a small flat screw driver to make sure those connectors are clicked into their sockets
     
  4. peterlindsay

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Took bird apart no loose wires / connections. Guess I take camera apart next.
     
  5. peterlindsay

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well it is fixed. After about 9 attemps at binding it finally took. Everything else seemed to be fine so I just kept binding it hoping it would take. Thanjs to those that pm's me with suggestions as well.
     
  6. cwmson

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what you mean by "binding", having same issue you did. Tks
     
  7. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
  8. peterlindsay

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes the professor is correct. Took nine tries to get my camera to bind. Just unexpectedly was not bound after I bumped to the ground with it.