Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Connection error, any help please

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by dizzy, Mar 13, 2016.

  1. dizzy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi guys n gals
    Been flying my p3a for a couple of months now, never had any issues, until today, at the moment I'm just flying out from my back garden and take off is always the same place, I fired up the bird today and all it says is not connecting, calibrated a few times but nothing, and I'm not getting any live feed on my iPad . Also says gimbal disconnected but it has said that before and goes back to normal after successful calibration. I had a look at my video settings and there was an option there for 4K ??? I have the advanced model so only 2.5k available. One last thing , when I power down the battery it continues to flash red for about 5 seconds, this also has never happened before, hope I've explained enough about the issues I'm still a relative newbie, any help appreciated.
    Cheers


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. phantomgaz5

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    3
    That happened to me recently and problem was my usb cable wasn't plug in correctly to my phone. Maybe you need a new cable/ Can you try a different one? Cheers
     
  3. dizzy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi gaz5 yes have tried another one, no change.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. dizzy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    2 flashing green lights on bird. So safe to fly without gps. The camera does its little dance when I switch bird on, but then just flops around like its switched off. It says gimbal not connected, nothing seems loose or out of place.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. dizzy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    All ok, just uninstalled fw, then reinstalled. All good


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Vind

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    What is fw. I got that once but it may happen again


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
  8. Vind

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you
     
  9. nemoeac

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    5
    Had a similar issue last weekend. For me it was the lightning cable connecting the remote to the iPad. I was using an extra long (15') after market cable - (just out of convenience). I have a dozen different lightning cables all over the house and it happened to be the closest when I decided to fly. Anyhow - I had the exact problem you described. After trying everything else with no luck, I realized I was using an aftermarket cable. I replaced it with the official Apple cable and the problem went away!
     
  10. Vind

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a 13 in after market cable. It will work but sometimes I get not connected but if I unplug it and reconnect it will work
     
  11. dizzy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    3
    My usb port on the controller seems to be getting looser and looser over time, anyone else having this issue?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app